Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > New Builds

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old November 22, 2012, 08:08 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 4
Default New Build - Non Gaming, Heavy Use

Hi everyone. I'm not much of a gamer, but do run VM's, do file serving, and run some HPC stuff occasionally. Here's what I have in mind for my next build, and would welcome comments...

MB - ASRock Z77 Extreme4
CPU - Intel Core i5-3570K Quad-Core
Memory - Corsair XMS3 Classic 16GB (2x8GB) DDR3 1333MHz
SSD - Corsair Force Series 3 120GB
Case - Corsair Graphite Series 600TM
Cooler - Corsair (CWCH60) Hydro Series H60
PSU - OCZ ModXStream Pro 700W Power Supply

I'll also be throwing in a couple of 2TB HD's.

Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old November 22, 2012, 08:11 PM
Allstar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 708

My System Specs

Default

Nice,but i think the ram and the PSU is a bit overkill :D and i'd throw 1600mhz!
I have the same SSD,it's cool!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old November 22, 2012, 08:25 PM
Soultribunal's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Mississauga
Posts: 8,068

My System Specs

Default

I would honestly change out to at least a more quality PSU, lesser capacity is fine for what you have. Something like a TX650, Strider Plus 650....

Those OCZ units have had issues in the past, I wouldn't trust them.

-ST
__________________




"We know not why he calls for us, only that when he does we must answer" - DMP 2009

"Dear Iceberg, I am sorry to hear about global warming. Karma is a bitch. Signed - Titanic"

I would rather believe and find god doesn't exist than to not believe and find that he does.

www.realhardwarereviews.com
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old November 22, 2012, 08:45 PM
Bond007's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 3,147

My System Specs

Default

Go with some 1600mhz ram (2x4gb or 2x8gb...your call)

Given you don't even have a graphics card in your build I would say use a quality lower wattage PSU as well. I would probably go with a 350-520w power supply (if you plan on running a mid range graphics card at some point go for the 500-520w range, if not you can go down towards the 350 mark). Antec, seasonic, and xfx are some good brands to pick from.
__________________
Desktop: Antec Three Hundred, Z77-D3H, 3570K undervolt @4.1ghz with Zalman Optima Cooler, Corsair Vengeance 2x4gb@1866mhz, HD 6950(unlocked shaders and OC'd), Bitfenix Fury 750w, WD Black 1TB, Intel 530 120GB
Away from home light Gamer: Acer Aspire 15.6", A8-3500m undervolt and OC to 2Ghz, 2x4gb Corsair Vengeance, Crucial M500 240gb
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old November 22, 2012, 09:25 PM
Bond007's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 3,147

My System Specs

Default

NCIX black friday sale just went live. A few power supply options I would use in your rig:

If no graphics card:
Seasonic OEM 350w for $31.99
Seasonic SS-350ET 350W ATX12V 20/24PIN ATX Power Supply Active PFC 80PLUS 120MM Fan OEM

If you will put a mid range graphics card or just want a bigger power supply:
XfX 550w $50 after $10 MIR and it comes with dirt 3 (I know you said not a gamer, so this may not matter)
XFX 550W PRO550W Core Edition Single Rail ATX 12V 44A 24PIN ATX Power Supply 80PLUS Bronze

Or Seasonic 520 for $60.
Seasonic S12II 520W EPS12V 20/24PIN ATX Power Supply Active PFC 80+ Bronze 6+8PIN PCI-E W/ 120MM Fan
__________________
Desktop: Antec Three Hundred, Z77-D3H, 3570K undervolt @4.1ghz with Zalman Optima Cooler, Corsair Vengeance 2x4gb@1866mhz, HD 6950(unlocked shaders and OC'd), Bitfenix Fury 750w, WD Black 1TB, Intel 530 120GB
Away from home light Gamer: Acer Aspire 15.6", A8-3500m undervolt and OC to 2Ghz, 2x4gb Corsair Vengeance, Crucial M500 240gb
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old November 23, 2012, 03:50 AM
Allstar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 561
Default

be careful of your RAM usage. I don't know how much RAM your VMs will need or how many VMs you have or if you plan on using your system at the same time you're running VMs or not, but try to figure it out and make sure you won't run out.

maybe a 3770K might be useful?
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old November 23, 2012, 07:09 AM
BlueByte's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Maynooth
Posts: 551
Default

Honestly RAM is so cheap right now, if you are running VMs throw as much in as you can 32GB is not overkill for VM work. Even VM tasks like merging snapshots, hdd maintenance will eat up huge amounts of RAM if they can. and its roughly $100 right now for 32GB....

Also depending on VM sizes, you may want to look at an array of SSDs.... the first time I merged snapshots at 1500MB/s I almost cried. Still use a platter for backup, but live work on the SSDs.

And as other have mentioned get a black friday deal on a good power supply.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old November 24, 2012, 06:50 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 4
Default

Thanks everyone! I'll look into one of the PSU specials. I'm on the fence as far as a graphics card is concerned. I don't know what to expect with the graphics capabilities of the I5. If I can afford it, I'll definitely try to take memory up to 32GB. I'm planning on doing this build over the holidays in December.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old November 24, 2012, 07:25 AM
Bond007's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 3,147

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by antonin View Post
Thanks everyone! I'll look into one of the PSU specials. I'm on the fence as far as a graphics card is concerned. I don't know what to expect with the graphics capabilities of the I5. If I can afford it, I'll definitely try to take memory up to 32GB. I'm planning on doing this build over the holidays in December.

What do you require graphically? What will you be doing with the computer that you are use the integrated will do? As for the ram with you uses I would go for 2x8gb sticks. That will give you 16 gab and 2 open stirs to add more ram if you need it at some point.
__________________
Desktop: Antec Three Hundred, Z77-D3H, 3570K undervolt @4.1ghz with Zalman Optima Cooler, Corsair Vengeance 2x4gb@1866mhz, HD 6950(unlocked shaders and OC'd), Bitfenix Fury 750w, WD Black 1TB, Intel 530 120GB
Away from home light Gamer: Acer Aspire 15.6", A8-3500m undervolt and OC to 2Ghz, 2x4gb Corsair Vengeance, Crucial M500 240gb
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old November 27, 2012, 06:43 AM
Dzzope's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Irishman in Kiev, wOOoo, I'm an alien...
Posts: 2,909

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by antonin View Post
Thanks everyone! I'll look into one of the PSU specials. I'm on the fence as far as a graphics card is concerned. I don't know what to expect with the graphics capabilities of the I5. If I can afford it, I'll definitely try to take memory up to 32GB. I'm planning on doing this build over the holidays in December.
Played L4D2 (not max'd) pretty well with the on-board when I was building my brothers machine. Not gonna be happy for anything really shiny but it will play games.

on the ram, go 2x8GB unless the stuff your doing with VM's is reasonably heavy or you run multiple instances at the same time etc etc. can run 3 VM's on my box with 6GB without issue.. it would be better to have more though and really does depend on what your doing.

If you find you need more.. just add 2 more sticks later..

See what you can do within your budget, 3770k would definitely be better but again depends on your usage. I would however go for the i7 before upping the ram or a GPU, ram etc is easy to add later, cpu's are a little more painful in that you'd have to sell and then upgrade not to mention take everything apart.

You have to weigh up your budget vs your needs and prioritise where to spend.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Experiment: Hitting my P67 with heavy I/O frontier204 Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 12 February 7, 2011 07:25 PM
Heavy Data Computer Build - Suggestions Needed! g-mess1 New Builds 6 December 9, 2010 08:33 AM
My 'green' HAF932 *heavy pics* Lamb Cases 25 August 31, 2009 12:28 PM
Possible new Rig. Heavy OC and Gaming Junglebizz New Builds 11 May 22, 2009 10:22 AM
TF2: Heavy vs Scount enaberif Off Topic 2 November 10, 2007 01:42 PM