Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > New Builds

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old November 12, 2012, 07:39 PM
slippy's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Toronto
Posts: 150
Default AMD CPU/Motherboard Prize Build

Introduction



Hi there! It's your week #3 contest winner slippy here to share my upgrade journey.
Thanks again to HardwareCanucks, AMD and NCIX for the prizes!



Here is what I upgraded:

CPU: AMD Athlon X3 440 --> AMD A10 5800K
MOBO: Asus M4A78LT-M LE --> MSI FM2-A55M-E33

Before and After:



Installation



The new MSI motherboard is much smaller than my old Asus. As a result, sacrifices had to made in terms of board layout. The first roadblock I hit was that the SATA ports were situated right under the video card slot. Since I have a double-slotted GTS 450 the ports are effectively blocked off. Luckily I have two right-angled cables. However, due to the orientation of the ports, I can't connect more than two devices. This is unfortunate as I have two hard drives and a DVD drive (not connected).

A small annoyance is the case fan header. On my old board it was located on the left side of the motherboard. This worked perfectly for me because I connected the rear exhaust case fan. On the new board the fan connector is on the right side, making cable management more difficult.



System Benchmarks







Conclusion



__________________
AMD A10 5800K | MSI FM2-A55M-E33 | Asus 7750 1GB
4GB G.SKILL Ripjaws | 500GB WD Blue; 2TB WD Green | Corsair CX500
Cooler Master Elite 430
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old November 15, 2012, 08:39 PM
slippy's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Toronto
Posts: 150
Default

Maybe I should have posted this in reviews or worklogs.

Does anyone know if I can connect more SATA cables with my setup?
Does a cable exist that caps all four of those ports and have cables coming out?
__________________
AMD A10 5800K | MSI FM2-A55M-E33 | Asus 7750 1GB
4GB G.SKILL Ripjaws | 500GB WD Blue; 2TB WD Green | Corsair CX500
Cooler Master Elite 430
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old November 15, 2012, 09:52 PM
Fudd Rucker's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: SSM Ont
Posts: 952

My System Specs

Default

Are you running stock clocks with that new chip?
__________________
I couldnt think of something snarky or interesting to put here this time around.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old November 16, 2012, 04:38 AM
slippy's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Toronto
Posts: 150
Default

Yes, for now. Would I need new RAM to overclock?
__________________
AMD A10 5800K | MSI FM2-A55M-E33 | Asus 7750 1GB
4GB G.SKILL Ripjaws | 500GB WD Blue; 2TB WD Green | Corsair CX500
Cooler Master Elite 430
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old November 16, 2012, 06:53 AM
Fudd Rucker's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: SSM Ont
Posts: 952

My System Specs

Default

Not necessarily as you have a K version of the chip so its just a matter of changing the multi and possibly a few voltage tweaks. But from what I have read overclocking the ram really makes these chips shine.
__________________
I couldnt think of something snarky or interesting to put here this time around.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old November 16, 2012, 09:09 AM
Alwaysrun's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Qualicum Beach BC
Posts: 801

My System Specs

Default

Great to see someone winning something that they actually need and appreciate. I also got a chuckle out of the way you framed your build log as a short review. Congratulations once again Slippy and thanks for sharing.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old November 16, 2012, 02:25 PM
slippy's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Toronto
Posts: 150
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fudd Rucker View Post
Not necessarily as you have a K version of the chip so its just a matter of changing the multi and possibly a few voltage tweaks. But from what I have read overclocking the ram really makes these chips shine.
I'll try the motherboard's "1 sec overclocking OC genie II" feature.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Alwaysrun View Post
Great to see someone winning something that they actually need and appreciate. I also got a chuckle out of the way you framed your build log as a short review. Congratulations once again Slippy and thanks for sharing.
I tried to copy HWC's review format
__________________
AMD A10 5800K | MSI FM2-A55M-E33 | Asus 7750 1GB
4GB G.SKILL Ripjaws | 500GB WD Blue; 2TB WD Green | Corsair CX500
Cooler Master Elite 430
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old November 16, 2012, 09:42 PM
Bungwirez's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Mississauga
Posts: 452

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by slippy View Post
Does a cable exist that caps all four of those ports and have cables coming out?
there's something like this: NZXT :: Unique. Unprecendented. Inspired - CB-SATA44P Product Detail
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old November 19, 2012, 06:12 PM
slippy's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Toronto
Posts: 150
Default

Overclocking Results



Using the motherboard's "1 Sec Overclocking OC Genie II" the CPU was overclocked from 3.8 Ghz to 4.0 GHz.
I'm not sure why CPU-Z is reporting 200 MHz more for both values.





__________________
AMD A10 5800K | MSI FM2-A55M-E33 | Asus 7750 1GB
4GB G.SKILL Ripjaws | 500GB WD Blue; 2TB WD Green | Corsair CX500
Cooler Master Elite 430
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old November 19, 2012, 06:34 PM
Bond007's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 3,009

My System Specs

Default

The auto OC doesn't look that great to me, as it raised vCore a touch and only bumped the frequency 5 mhz. (5x40=200mhz OC). I would say either:

A. drop your ram multiplier by one in case its holding up your overclock
B. Put everything back to stock and just bump the multiplier to 42 (I would think it should maintain 4.2ghz on stock voltage no problem...maybe even a bit more).

Keep in mind you are on the stock cooler, so monitor temps and keep them in check (especially with a raised voltage).
__________________
Desktop: Antec Three Hundred, Z77-D3H, 3570K undervolt @4.1ghz with Zalman Optima Cooler, Corsair Vengeance 2x4gb@1866mhz, HD 6950, Seasonic S12II 500W, WD Black 1TB, Intel 530 120GB
Away from home light Gamer: Acer Aspire 15.6", A8-3500m undervolt and OC to 2Ghz, 2x4gb Corsair Vengeance, Crucial M500 240gb
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Intel France core i7 prize screwup slugbug CPU's and Motherboards 47 April 16, 2009 02:02 PM