Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > New Builds

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old November 11, 2012, 04:18 PM
Rookie

Talking UK - New Build - 450 Budget!

Hey guy's looking to upgrade over the holiday period.

My Current System:
Intel Core2 Duo E6550 @ 2.33 GHz
3gb DDR 2 Ram @ 800mhz
GTX 260 216(her day is numbered)
Asus P5QL Pro Motherboard

So basically i am trying to build a rig that will run BF3 and GTAV when it comes out, i know estimating what will be needed for that game will be hard as system req's have not been released yet but i am open to estimates. I should also point out that 170 will have to come out of the budget for a new monitor, i am going for the Dell UltraSharp U2312HM IPS 1920x1280. So really that leaves me with 380 to spend on a new motherboard ram cpu and gpu, i know it's not allot but, hey i am a student.

So far the cheapest option i have came across is this;

CPU: AMD Phenom ii x4 965 - 70
GPU: NVIDIA GTX 560TI Gainward 1024mb - 165
Motherboard: MSI 760GM-P23 (FX) AM3+ 760G+SB710 - 30
Ram DDR3 4GB Crosair: 15

That brings be to 280, Would this build be capable of playing BF3 on high (not ultra) setting @ 1920 x 1080 and never dip below 40 fps? also the will the cpu bottle neck the gpu? i have read mixed reviews and can't really get a straight answer when it comes to the 965.

Again i would just like to reiterate for any one saying go intel, go intel get a 2500k as i have heard so many times(not on this forum), i am on a budget.

Cheer's - Anton. http://www.hardwarecanucks.com/forum...s/biggrin1.gif
Old November 11, 2012, 04:29 PM
F@H

My System Specs

Since we are largely a Canadian forum, you might want to post some links to stores which you'd be buying from. That way we can better pick out parts for you.

That being said, the Phenom II X4 and 760G chipset are rather old, almost in the same era as your Core 2 Duo. I think there must be a better option out there while remaining in your budget.