Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > New Builds

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old October 23, 2012, 02:35 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 8
Default run 6 monitors

Hi peeps hope your evening is going well I have a gtx 660 time is it possible if I buy one more that I could run 6 screens like you do with 3 with nvidia surround
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old October 23, 2012, 02:42 PM
SugarJ's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Langley, BC
Posts: 6,045

My System Specs

Default

For gaming? No. Nvidia's maximum screens for a surround config is 4. If you are looking for multiple screens for office/trading use, it's possible, but I think you'd have to go to a Quadro card to drive a 6 screen configuration.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old October 23, 2012, 03:01 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 8
Default

Tnx sugerj I want it for running moves not games would it be possible to run the six and have the video go over all six
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old October 23, 2012, 03:01 PM
Allstar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 560
Default

you can do 6 DP monitors with certain 5K/6K series ATI cards?

EDIT: saw the OP's second post...not sure if that will even work with ATI cards.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old October 23, 2012, 03:05 PM
SugarJ's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Langley, BC
Posts: 6,045

My System Specs

Default

As stated, AMD does have some 6 port mini-DP cards on the market. I'm not sure if you could run a movie across all 6 or not. To be perfectly honest, I think your money would be better spent on a 1080p projector and screen rather than buy 6 $200 monitors.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old October 23, 2012, 03:29 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 8
Default

I see what you mean with projector but I'm not a fan of them I'm running 3 screens with my MSI GTX 660 TI I mite buy one more and try it with out SLI and see if it's possible if not it's not money wasted as I can run them SLI on my 3 screens
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old October 23, 2012, 04:20 PM
BlueByte's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Maynooth
Posts: 515

My System Specs

Default

My asus 7970 DCII will support 6 monitors, 4 DP and 2 DVI... a little pricey for movies though.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old October 23, 2012, 05:12 PM
Arinoth's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Richmond Hill
Posts: 8,540

My System Specs

Default

You might want to look into some Matrox cards, I know they can output to a lot of displays, just can't do anything graphically intensive like gaming.

They may however be pricer then what's out there. You could be able to find a used 5870 6 monitor edition card if you can get lucky.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
how many monitors do you use? muse108dc Display Units 27 March 6, 2013 08:28 AM
21:9 Monitors EagerBeaver Rumor Mill 28 October 17, 2012 11:25 AM
sli with 3 monitors gingerbee Display Units 11 May 17, 2012 10:40 PM
What monitors to get? SKW Display Units 8 August 1, 2011 03:28 PM
2 monitors, what to do muse108dc Display Units 3 May 26, 2011 08:13 PM