Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > New Builds

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old October 22, 2012, 07:26 PM
Top Prospect

Default Need some help with understanding bottlenecking and my new build.

Ok, so I have always built my own computers rather than buying, but this is my first "planned" build that is going to be designed around a specific use. First of all, I do a lot of graphic design work. I'm a web developer and sys admin. But for the most part, my primary focus is going to be on multi-monitor gaming. I'm a big BF3 fan, along with MW3 and GuildWars. When I play the FPS games, I want the Eyefinity (or Nvidia if you can convince me it's better). So I guess I have a couple questions with this build. First is that I've spent a ton of time researching Nvidia vs AMD and it seems like every day I'm leaning to one or the other, Nvidia for CUDA for my Adobe work, and AMD for the great support for multi-monitor gaming. I'm wondering if I can use Eyefinity for 3 of the monitors, and watch movies and stuff on the 4th. The second question is trying to understand bottleneck. I know the concept, I get that you create a bottleneck by introducing a component that cannot perform to the abilities of the rest of the build, effectively killing your productivity. Since this is my first real build that isn't me just piecing a bunch of stuff together to surf the web, I figured I'd give it a shot here.

So here it goes, my first post so feel free to criticize lol (But hopefully constructive)

Fractal Design Define XL Case
XION 1000W Modular PS
Gigabyte GA-Z77X Mobo
Intel i7-3770K Ivy Bridge 3.5GHz
Mushkin DDR3 PC3 10600 8Gb x4(32Gb)
XFX DoubleD Radeon HD 7970
OCZ Vertex 128Gb 2.5 SSD (Operating system and Programs)
WD Red 1Tb 3.5 HD (x2 Raid 1 Mirrored for Data)