Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > New Builds

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old October 21, 2012, 12:13 PM
AJR AJR is offline
Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 48
Default SSD or CPU upgrade?

Here's probably a dumb question. I'm tentatively building my computer with the Intel Core i3-3225 Ivy Bridge (see my build thread here). Am I better off spending the extra hundred on an SSD, or by upgrading to the Intel Core i5-3570K Ivy Bridge and using my old 500 GB HDD.

The machine will be for multitasking word, itunes, web, Photoshop, windows movie maker, and netflix/youtube. No gaming.

Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old October 21, 2012, 12:30 PM
BeaverBender's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Montreal
Posts: 260

My System Specs

Default

SSD FTW
__________________
Creationists make it sound like a ‘theory’ is something you dreamt up after being drunk all night — Isaac Asimov
All thinking men are atheists — Ernest Hemingway
Faith means not wanting to know what is true — Friedrich Nietzsche


Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old October 21, 2012, 12:51 PM
odis172's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Ottawa, ON
Posts: 683

My System Specs

Default

For what you are using it for, the better cpu will provide little benefit. The exception is photoshop, so if you will be doing a lot of PS, it might be worth it, but I would say you should put the money into an SSD. Get at least a 120GB for your main os drive, then use the 500gb for everything else. 500 Might be a bit small, but you can easily upgrade that later
__________________
Laptop: Lenovo T420 - Core i5 2520 - 8GB DDR3
Server: 2 xeon E5530 - Asus Z8N-D6 - 12GB DDR3 - 8x 500GB raid 50 - Perc 6/i - Compucase RA448A00
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old October 21, 2012, 12:52 PM
dandelioneater's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Kelowna, BC
Posts: 1,114

My System Specs

Default

The ssd will provide the most noticeable improvement in performance. You will notice it right away if you've been using hard drives previously.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old October 21, 2012, 01:08 PM
AJR AJR is offline
Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 48
Default

Great, sounds good! SSD it is. I don't do a whole lot of photoshop, just a little here and there.

Here's a related question that I asked in a different post, but didn't get a solid answer for:

Will a 128GB SSD be big enough to load a dual boot of Win7 and Mint?
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old October 21, 2012, 01:57 PM
BeaverBender's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Montreal
Posts: 260

My System Specs

Default

Yes, but not much room left so I wouldn't recommend it.
__________________
Creationists make it sound like a ‘theory’ is something you dreamt up after being drunk all night — Isaac Asimov
All thinking men are atheists — Ernest Hemingway
Faith means not wanting to know what is true — Friedrich Nietzsche


Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old October 21, 2012, 02:01 PM
AJR AJR is offline
Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 48
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BeaverBender View Post
Yes, but not much room left so I wouldn't recommend it.
What size would you say is sufficient?
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old October 21, 2012, 02:02 PM
botat29's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Montreal
Posts: 828
Default

Since you own a Z77 , you can also purchase an Intel 40 GB and use Intel RST to cache your OS drive with the Intel SSD, is DAM fast, I have 2 builds with RST and I can't see the difference with my others builds with pure SSD as OS

3 weeks ago I get one in special from Egg for only $ 60 with free shipping
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old October 21, 2012, 02:19 PM
AJR AJR is offline
Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 48
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by botat29 View Post
Since you own a Z77 , you can also purchase an Intel 40 GB and use Intel RST to cache your OS drive with the Intel SSD, is DAM fast, I have 2 builds with RST and I can't see the difference with my others builds with pure SSD as OS

3 weeks ago I get one in special from Egg for only $ 60 with free shipping
This is a little outside my knowledge base. I'm actually not even sure what the RST is. Can you point me in the direction of a good tutorial for this?
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old October 21, 2012, 02:22 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 1,508

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by AJR View Post
Will a 128GB SSD be big enough to load a dual boot of Win7 and Mint?
Yes, depending on your applications installed. You said no games, so that eliminates some of the biggest installs. And even if you fill the SSD, you can always install your least used applications on your HDD.

Honestly, I'd rather skip caching and have 100% SSD speeds 24/7. I'd suggest OS's and apps on the SSD with extra apps and all downloads, media, data, etc. on your 500GB HDD. Just my opinion, of course.
__________________
For my part I know nothing with any certainty, but the sight of the stars makes me dream.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Should I upgrade? LegendofJubei New Builds 11 May 10, 2012 09:49 AM
Should I upgrade or SLI uppercut Video Cards 12 January 3, 2012 08:05 AM
VGA upgrade from GTX 260 first, or CPU+mobo upgrade first? panzerfan Video Cards 9 April 6, 2010 08:25 PM
$500 upgrade JD New Builds 11 July 8, 2009 07:25 PM
CPU upgrade micul New Builds 4 July 7, 2009 07:13 PM