Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > New Builds

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old October 4, 2012, 11:44 AM
great_big_abyss's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Winnipeg
Posts: 2,210

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by igot6strings View Post
Pop a 7750 in there and it'll be a sweet gaming rig. It'll even handle some of the newer games on med-high settings. OCs quite well too.
This defeats the point of going with an APU. He'll have more than enough horsepower for the games his neice and nephew want to play. No need to up the cost with a discrete GPU.
__________________



HTPC: Z77A-G45; 3770K; Coolermaster GeminII; 2x4GB Kingston HyperX 1600Mhz; MSI R7-260X; 2x 128GB Crucial M4 SSD; 1TB WD Green, 2x 2TB WD Green; PC P&C 750W PS; Fractal Design Node 605;
Son's Rig: M5A97; 1055T; CNPS20LQ; 2x4GB Corsair Vengeance 1600Mhz; ASUS GTX650Ti Boost; 80GB Intel 520 SSD; 320GB WD Black HDD; SPI 700W; Bitfenix Shinobi;
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old October 4, 2012, 03:06 PM
MVP
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: St. John's, Newfoundland
Posts: 417
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by great_big_abyss View Post
This defeats the point of going with an APU. He'll have more than enough horsepower for the games his neice and nephew want to play. No need to up the cost with a discrete GPU.
Possibly, but you can add the card for dual graphics mode or am I out to lunch? I don't know much about this platform to be honest.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old October 4, 2012, 03:13 PM
Pabz0r545's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Edmonton, AB
Posts: 1,308

My System Specs

Default

I believe it is possible to crossfire with certain cards but as GBA said, it is way overkill for the system in mind and kind of defeats the purpose of going with an APU otherwise I gotta say I would go intel. :)

Maybe in a couple years down the road once the machine starts to lose it's firepower the chip can be overclocked and a discrete card added for moar powa!
__________________
I'm a damn hoarder lol.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old October 4, 2012, 03:41 PM
EagerBeaver's Avatar
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: North Bay, Ontario
Posts: 28
Default

May I suggest the SilverStone Temjin TJ08-E for the case? They are $100 but you can easily get one for under $100 with an NCIX price match. I'm downsizing my current rig and that is the case I'm going for. It's an awesome and tough case!
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old October 4, 2012, 03:46 PM
great_big_abyss's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Winnipeg
Posts: 2,210

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by EagerBeaver View Post
May I suggest the SilverStone Temjin TJ08-E for the case? They are $100 but you can easily get one for under $100 with an NCIX price match. I'm downsizing my current rig and that is the case I'm going for. It's an awesome and tough case!
I like it because you can put an mATX board in it (reducing cost vs. mITX) and you can also fit a conventional cooler such as a Coolermaster Hyper 212+.

Thank You! I may end up going for this case, too, for my stepson's AMD APU build.
__________________



HTPC: Z77A-G45; 3770K; Coolermaster GeminII; 2x4GB Kingston HyperX 1600Mhz; MSI R7-260X; 2x 128GB Crucial M4 SSD; 1TB WD Green, 2x 2TB WD Green; PC P&C 750W PS; Fractal Design Node 605;
Son's Rig: M5A97; 1055T; CNPS20LQ; 2x4GB Corsair Vengeance 1600Mhz; ASUS GTX650Ti Boost; 80GB Intel 520 SSD; 320GB WD Black HDD; SPI 700W; Bitfenix Shinobi;
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old October 4, 2012, 03:58 PM
EagerBeaver's Avatar
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: North Bay, Ontario
Posts: 28
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by great_big_abyss View Post
I like it because you can put an mATX board in it (reducing cost vs. mITX) and you can also fit a conventional cooler such as a Coolermaster Hyper 212+.

Thank You! I may end up going for this case, too, for my stepson's AMD APU build.
It's a beautiful case, and the reason I'm downsizing is to save money!
Also check out the Silverstone PS07, I was looking at it also. They seem the same the same interior wise, but differ on the exterior. Perfect since you have to build two setups, because sibling don't like having the same stuff. They can have the same rig internally, but externally they'll look different and can tell their rigs apart. Good luck with your build, I'm all about M-ATX builds now!
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old October 4, 2012, 06:07 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Sudbury
Posts: 19

My System Specs

Default

I doubt you would need that SSD. Personally I would pick up a nice 1tb drive for around 70$ if you check the ncix sale.
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old October 4, 2012, 06:36 PM
Bond007's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 3,124

My System Specs

Default

With their uses I would either vote for A8/A10, or a pentium CPU and hd6670.
__________________
Desktop: Antec Three Hundred, Z77-D3H, 3570K undervolt @4.1ghz with Zalman Optima Cooler, Corsair Vengeance 2x4gb@1866mhz, HD 6950(unlocked shaders and OC'd), Bitfenix Fury 750w, WD Black 1TB, Intel 530 120GB
Away from home light Gamer: Acer Aspire 15.6", A8-3500m undervolt and OC to 2Ghz, 2x4gb Corsair Vengeance, Crucial M500 240gb
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old October 5, 2012, 06:20 AM
MVP
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 306

My System Specs

Default

I have several office computers with the Silverstone SG06 case. Remember you have to get a slimline drive DVD and the appropriate cable. If you get a 2.5" hard drive you can eliminate the 3.5" hard drive cage which hangs below the DVD bay and gives you more room. I used the stock CPU cooler for the i3 chip with no graphics card running the machines as plain jane office machines that run MS office and other software and never see temps higher than low 40s C temps. They are cute little cases and don't take up a lot of space (maybe 3 reams of paper stacked up).
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old October 5, 2012, 09:28 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 5
Default

Depending on your budget you should definitely go with the A10.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Light To Moderate Gaming and Entertainment Build. $750 Budget geokilla New Builds 4 August 13, 2012 11:30 PM
HD 6310M for light gaming? dimre01 Mobile Computing 7 July 30, 2011 01:58 PM
[WTB] GPU for light gaming kanadien Buy/Sell & Trade 2 March 29, 2011 11:08 AM
Modest AMD Build fjanicki New Builds 14 August 18, 2010 11:51 PM
Gaming with Light editing work. Phenom II build? manbearpig New Builds 3 January 22, 2009 07:47 AM