Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > New Builds

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old September 29, 2012, 10:14 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 3
Thumbs up My first build: Final revisions-Help&Advice (budget build)

After many posts and research, I think that I've found what will ultimately become my first custom build. Although I can afford what follows, I am on a tight budget so saving anywhere I can is very feasible. I'm not saying that I must cut certain corners, so if you think that paying a little extra cash for something is worth it, then I will consider keeping it. Thank to whoever reads and/or answers this. c:

Budget: Ideally $650 (preferably less).

Intended PC use: Chrome web-browsing with many tabs, YouTube, Gaming, Office applications, watching movies & shows, Photoshop, multitasking between these programs, etc (all in 1920 x 1080 resolution). I also want the computer to be ready for upgrades in the future.

Build:

PCPartPicker part list / Price breakdown by merchant / Benchmarks

CPU: Intel Core i5-2500K 3.3GHz Quad-Core Processor ($197.99 @ Amazon)
Motherboard: ASRock H77 Pro4/MVP ATX LGA1155 Motherboard ($87.55 @ Newegg)
Memory: G.Skill Ares Series 8GB (2 x 4GB) DDR3-1600 Memory ($39.99 @ Newegg)
Storage: Seagate Barracuda 1TB 3.5" 7200RPM Internal Hard Drive ($69.99 @ NCIX US)
Video Card: Sapphire Radeon HD 7770 1GB Video Card ($134.99 @ Newegg)
Case: Antec Three Hundred Two ATX Mid Tower Case ($49.99 @ NCIX US)
Power Supply: Corsair Builder 600W 80 PLUS Certified ATX12V Power Supply ($51.98 @ Newegg)
Optical Drive: LG GH24NS90 DVD/CD Writer ($17.99 @ Amazon)
Total: $650.47
(Prices include shipping, taxes, and discounts when available.)

Questions/Misc

I know I can save on...

the PSU:
I know that It's more wattage than I need, but I want to be able to upgrade. If I go non-modular, I am sure I can save some money. Is going modular worth the extra cost?

the case:
I know I could easily save money by downgrading it to the regular three hundred, but is the "two" version worth it? If I downgraded, what will I do about the 3.0 USB ports?

the CPU:
I could instead use the Intel Core i5-3470 3.2GHz Quad-Core Processor ($190.39 @ NCIX US) to save a bit, but I would lose the ability to overclock. Although I really have no idea how beneficial overclocking is, I would like the ability to do it. Is having the ability to overclock worth the extra cash, or should I just go with the 3470 to save a bit?

So what do you think? Anywhere else I can/should save? Opinions, advice, recommendations?

*TLDR*: Does my build look fine? I intend on buying an aftermarket CPU cooler in the future, as well as an SSD. Anywhere I can save?

I really appreciate you taking the time to read this and perhaps answer some of my questions! Thank you and have a great day.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old September 29, 2012, 10:52 AM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 2,861

My System Specs

Default

Don't have much time to comment, but a big point for you is that you need a K CPU and a motherboard that supports OC in order to do it (the MOB you selected does not). You need a Z68 or Z77 motherboard in order to overclock...not and H based motherboard.
__________________
Desktop: Antec Three Hundred, Z77-D3H, 3570K undervolt @4.1ghz with Zalman Optima Cooler, Corsair Vengeance 2x4gb@1866mhz, MSI Cyclone GTX 460, Seasonic S12II 500W, WD Black 1TB, Intel 530 120GB
Away from home light Gamer: Acer Aspire 15.6", A8-3500m undervolt and OC to 2Ghz, 2x4gb Corsair Vengeance, Crucial M500 240gb
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old September 29, 2012, 01:17 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Ottawa, ON
Posts: 1,226

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by HigginsHere View Post
You can't overclock the CPU on an H77 motherboard. You need a Z77, (EDIT: Z75), Z68, or a P67 to overclock. Either go to an overclockable motherboard or return to that 3470 Ivy you were talking about.

On a Sandy / Ivy platform an overclock isn't a "requirement" by any standards. Every game that has some decent programming would be able to deliver playable frames per second on a stock quad core Ivy Bridge, pretty much because they have to - nothing beats those CPUs in performance/clock at the moment.
(The same can't be said if you're using an AMD CPU.)
__________________
"The computer programmer says they should drive the car around the block and see if the tire fixes itself." [src]
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old September 29, 2012, 07:54 PM
JohnEBH's Avatar
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Canada
Posts: 33

My System Specs

Default

In contrast to the posts above, there are overclocking options available on H77 boards.
Reference
You can do so with Ivy Bridge/3rd Generation "K" procs, but nothing else. Also you're not guaranteed control over voltages.
So it's not impossible, but it certainly has its limits.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old October 9, 2012, 07:56 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Kansas
Posts: 18
Default

If you want to be able to have usb 3.0 you can get an internal hub or to save money you could also get an antec one
Reply With Quote
Reply


Tags
antec , final , first build , gaming build , intel

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Advice & Suggestions on first build under $3k budget TBGAPowa New Builds 15 June 27, 2012 09:07 AM
Final Advice Needed on my Build (~1000$) monocycliste New Builds 5 June 18, 2012 12:00 PM
New first build! any final advice? devan5 New Builds 7 July 14, 2010 02:27 PM
Need Advice on a i7 $2800 budget build MrBear09 New Builds 20 October 12, 2009 07:07 AM
need advice on budget build thenewguy001 CPU's and Motherboards 11 May 19, 2008 02:08 PM