Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > New Builds

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old September 10, 2012, 01:13 PM
botat29's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Montreal
Posts: 828
Default AMD FM1 build

I'm very confuse with the new AMD CPU. I want to give a try to the AM1 CPU and Motherboard, what will be a nice one to Install Windows 7 and Office 2010 , the PC will not be use for other thing and I will use an Intel 120 G520 SSD. I want something responsive
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old September 10, 2012, 05:01 PM
stoanee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Lacombe Alberta
Posts: 3,258

My System Specs

Default

I think you would be happy with it. I built one for my wife and so far so good. She is using it for a business course she is taking.

Specs:
1)-AMD A8-3870K APU, Black Edition 3.0GHz w/ 4MB Cache at Memory Express
2-Asus F1A75-V EVO w/ DDR3 1866, 7.1 Audio, Gigabit Lan, PCI-E, CrossFireX at Memory Express
3)-G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 8GB PC3-12800 Dual Channel DDR3 Kit (2 x 4GB) at Memory Express
4)-Corsair Professional Series HX750 Modular Power Supply at Memory Express (total overkill but was on sale)
5)-WD 500GB Caviar Black 7200rpm SATA III w/ 32MB Cache at Memory Express
__________________
heatware
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old September 10, 2012, 05:08 PM
Soullessone21's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Calgary AB
Posts: 1,319

My System Specs

Default

any FM1 board I setup ran far better with 1866+ ram due to how the controllers work so just get fast ram haha
__________________
Good Bye HWC it was great :)
Site and Forum:
http://forums.realhardwarereviews.com/index.php

If you need me the link above is where I spend my days now
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old September 10, 2012, 05:12 PM
stoanee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Lacombe Alberta
Posts: 3,258

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Soullessone21 View Post
any FM1 board I setup ran far better with 1866+ ram due to how the controllers work so just get fast ram haha
My wife would never have noticed it, I just needed it to work.......
__________________
heatware
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old September 10, 2012, 05:13 PM
botat29's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Montreal
Posts: 828
Default

I have an extra Lian-li PC-Q07 . I may order this mini-itx

Newegg.ca - ASRock A75M-ITX FM1 AMD A75 (Hudson D3) HDMI SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 Mini ITX AMD Motherboard
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old September 19, 2012, 05:20 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Montreal
Posts: 1,625

My System Specs

Default

the mobo is nice it has all it needs. I was also thinking of a FM1 system for me wife, the Fm1 CPUs will disappear shortly from the market so hurry up.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old September 19, 2012, 05:25 PM
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: midland, ontario
Posts: 519
Default

I'd advise to build on the soon to launch FM2 boards for more future support & should be out in the next month or so.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old September 19, 2012, 06:50 PM
zeus3dfx
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

I recently built a system for a friend with a Gigabyte FM1 board. Let me tell you, the A8-3850 in that system was fairly quick and made for a decent overall system. My friend used a traditional HDD though, so if you go with an SSD you should be pretty happy with it.

Other than that, I would say perhaps to wait for the FM2 socket boards and chips, which will be even better.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old September 20, 2012, 02:59 AM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Montreal
Posts: 1,625

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by zeus3dfx View Post
I would say perhaps to wait for the FM2 socket boards and chips, which will be even better.
Why? the Trinity is not better than Llano, at least not in Clock per Clock instructions : Llano is the Phenom II architecture at it 's peak performance and in plus built on a smaller process than the Phenoms, 32nm. Trinity has the Piledriver Architecture, a clear work in progress, 15% better in CPC than Bulldozer, which everybody knows what that is. What Trinity has better is the video part which is the raden 6 series compared to Radeon 5 series on Llano.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old September 20, 2012, 03:41 AM
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: midland, ontario
Posts: 519
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MARSTG View Post
Why? the Trinity is not better than Llano, at least not in Clock per Clock instructions : Llano is the Phenom II architecture at it 's peak performance and in plus built on a smaller process than the Phenoms, 32nm. Trinity has the Piledriver Architecture, a clear work in progress, 15% better in CPC than Bulldozer, which everybody knows what that is. What Trinity has better is the video part which is the raden 6 series compared to Radeon 5 series on Llano.
And based on the Trininty moble review i just read its more then ovious that thats what the OP SHOULD be going for .... A10 trinity mobile preforms between i5/i7 moble chips cpuwise.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
To build, or not to build: that is the question Timid newbe New Builds 5 August 12, 2010 05:33 AM
New Build- Corsair 800D --> My cleanest build ever. Watercooled btdvox Case Mods, Worklog & Gallery 28 May 11, 2010 02:07 PM
Windows 7 Build 7000 VS Windows XP SP3 Build 2600 Benchmarks Veritas Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 3 March 3, 2009 02:48 PM
Critique my gaming build build 1080p New Builds 10 January 14, 2009 04:18 PM