Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > New Builds

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old August 27, 2012, 11:39 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 4
Exclamation Would this work?

So, I'm gonna go all out on my next build. Also, it is my first attempt at liquid cooling. I'm going quad sli 680s and I want them all liquid cooled, along with my processor.

My question is: Is this enough to get the job done?
- XSPC Dual Loop Reservoir - DDCBAYTWO
- Swiftech MCP355 x2
- XSPC Triple Radiator x2
- Cooler Master Excalibur 120mm x13 (12 for push/pull rads, 1 for rear exhaust)
- HEATKILLER Rev 3.0 for cpu
- HEATKILLER GPU-X GTX 680 "Hole Edition" x4
- And last, but not least, some PrimoChill PrimoFlex PRO LRT tubing

Yeah, quad 680s may be a little much, and dual 690s may be better, but this is what I've chosen to do so please give some good feedback!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old August 27, 2012, 12:31 PM
ZZLEE's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: KANATA
Posts: 2,094

My System Specs

Default

You may want to think about two Loops one fore CPU and board and one fore GPU s. ??

And heat sinks fore board maybe. ??

Edit ; full specs of the expected build would be useful also. ??
__________________
"EVGA hunted down the last dozen or so expats living in Karachi." SKY
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old August 27, 2012, 01:16 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 4
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ZZLEE View Post
You may want to think about two Loops one fore CPU and board and one fore GPU s. ??

And heat sinks fore board maybe. ??

Edit ; full specs of the expected build would be useful also. ??

Yeah, I'm gonna do two loops. I guess what I'm really asking is if I can cool all four gpus with the other 360mm rad. I could probably even cool the processor and maybe one of the cards in one loop, and the other three in another loop, but I'm not sure.

Full specs:
Processor - Intel Core i7-3960X Extreme Edition Sandy Bridge-E 3.3GHz (3.9GHz Turbo) LGA 2011 130W Six-Core Desktop Processor BX80619i73960X
Motherboard - ASRock X79 Extreme11 LGA 2011 Intel X79 SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 SSI CEB Intel Motherboard
Video Cards - EVGA 04G-P4-3688-KR GeForce GTX 680 Classified 4GB 256-bit GDDR5 PCI Express 3.0 x16 HDCP Ready SLI Support Video Card x4
Memory - 64GB Corsair Dominator Platinum 240-PIn DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1866
Hard Drives - ADATA Premier Pro SP900 ASP900S3-256GM-C 2.5" 256GB SATA III MLC Internal SSD x1
- Western Digital Caviar Black WD2002FAEX 2TB 7200 RPM SATA 6.0Gb/s 3.5" Internal Hard Drive x2
Power Supply - COOLER MASTER RSF00-SPM2D3-US 1500W ATX 12V V2.3 SLI Ready CrossFire Ready 80 PLUS SILVER Certified Modular Active PFC Power Supply
Case - LIAN LI PC-A77F
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old August 27, 2012, 02:25 PM
Perineum's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Surrey, B.C.
Posts: 4,039

My System Specs

Default

an "all out" build with an ASRock motherboard and a Cooler Master PSU?
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old August 27, 2012, 02:37 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 4
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Perineum View Post
an "all out" build with an ASRock motherboard and a Cooler Master PSU?
The only consumer mobo that runs PCIe at x16 in all four slots...
And what's wrong with a 1500w psu?
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old August 27, 2012, 05:14 PM
Perineum's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Surrey, B.C.
Posts: 4,039

My System Specs

Default

Nothing wrong with a 1500W PSU, just *that* 1500W PSU.

CoolerMaster aren't known for their PSUs, and every one that I've ever bought blew up and took important things with it.

When looking for a *good* review on that PSU I found this on JonnyGuru.com:

Quote:
Originally Posted by Oklahoma Wolf
No plans on the 1300. Am currently waiting on a second 1500, otherwise that review would have been done well before now. First one had major issues right out of the box, and is obviously defective.

That reminds me, I need to get into that one and see what's going on with it.
You'd be better off with this: Professional Series or any other good PSU

And don't look at the wattage numbers, since it's way overkill anyway and not true clean power you're going to end up with anyway.

Regarding the motherboard, I've always found ASRock to do "interesting" things with theirs. I think from a performance standpoint that if the x16 slots made that much performance difference then everyone would be doing it.

I would think that most that data would be going over the SLI bridge anyway, and the performance gain from higher speed slots is going to be marginal at best.

Someone like SKYTML or AKG or whoever does a lot of MB reviews would be able to comment best.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old August 27, 2012, 06:13 PM
Shadowmeph's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 3,369

My System Specs

Default

I think that x8 slots are marginal when running more then 2 gpus maybe even marginal running x16 and a x8
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old August 27, 2012, 07:32 PM
Bungwirez's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Mississauga
Posts: 449

My System Specs

Default

4x680 wow. you realize most applications will run worse with all that GPU?

I do like that LianLi case. could be a little challenge to cram two 120.3 rads, IDK?
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old August 29, 2012, 03:44 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 4
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bungwirez View Post
4x680 wow. you realize most applications will run worse with all that GPU?

I do like that LianLi case. could be a little challenge to cram two 120.3 rads, IDK?

The case is modded. The top panel has a place for a 360mm rad.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Attempt #16 to get work failed, and no other work to do Shadowmeph HardwareCanucks F@H Team 7 January 5, 2012 03:33 PM
Attempt #10 to get work failed, and no other work to do. LaughingCrow HardwareCanucks F@H Team 3 May 5, 2010 08:29 AM
Will it Work Again? Spikemaul Audio 21 April 1, 2010 04:46 AM
F@H does not work? Sushi Warrior HardwareCanucks F@H Team 37 October 29, 2009 03:52 PM
will this work Jhayman O/S's, Drivers & General Software 1 July 3, 2008 12:59 AM