Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > New Builds

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old August 25, 2012, 04:45 AM
Rookie

Default First Build *would love your input*

This is actually going to be my very first post on here.

I'm fairly new to this computer tech stuff, but I've always been fascinated by it. I've wanted to build a computer for a few years now, but didn't really start researching about this stuff until 8 months ago.

Anyways, here is what I've come up with.

Motherboard - Asus Maximus V Extreme LGA1155 Intel Z77

CPU- Intel 3rd Gen. i7 3770k

Memory - G.Skill Trident X Series 16GB (2 x 8GB) 2133Mhz

Video Card(s) - 2 x MSI Geforce GTX 660Ti Power Edition

Sound Card - Asus Xonar Pheobus

Hard Drive(s) - OCZ Vertex 4 256GB SSD (boot drive)
Western Digital Caviar Black 1TB 7200rpm 64mb cache

Monitor(s) - Asus VS248H-P 24in LED backlit

Case - NZXT Switch 810 Full ATX Tower

Power Supply - SeaSonic Platinum-1000W Modular

OS - Windows 7 Premium 64bit

Heatsink - Corsair H100

This is meant for gaming as well as video editing/photoshop. So if you guys could please give me any advice on improving it. If you think I'm bottle-necking it anywhere, then please don't hesitate.
Old August 25, 2012, 05:29 AM
Hall Of Fame

My System Specs

Looks great. I would back down to a 850w psu though.
Old August 25, 2012, 05:52 AM
Hall Of Fame

My System Specs

Unless your planning to seriously push overclocks the maximus extreme and platinum PSU is a waste...

Sabertooth if you want to stay premium and even the P8Z77 v or V Pro will be plenty for what you need.. all good overclockers and stable.

I would drop to a single 670 as it's more than enough for single screen of that size and will be a better base if you decide to go for multi-monitors or a large res screen later and then need SLI.