Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > New Builds

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #31 (permalink)  
Old September 5, 2012, 07:52 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 29
Default

this is what my build looks like
corsair 800d
rampage 4 extreme
intel i7 3930k
corsair h100
{4 x 8gb} 32gb ddr3 1600 corsair dominator platinum
nvidia evga 670 ftw+ 4gb
cooler master silent pro hybrid 1050w
12x internal blue ray player
intel 520 120gb
wd black caviar 1tb
Reply With Quote
  #32 (permalink)  
Old September 6, 2012, 04:09 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 71
Default

Are you planning to do liquid cooling down the road at all? If not all that is going to look tiny in the 800d, you could save some by getting a nice mid tower case and fit everything in there still with no issues.
Reply With Quote
  #33 (permalink)  
Old September 6, 2012, 06:12 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 29
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by zypho View Post
Are you planning to do liquid cooling down the road at all? If not all that is going to look tiny in the 800d, you could save some by getting a nice mid tower case and fit everything in there still with no issues.
its hard to explain but once i saw the 800d i had to have it! it is like there will be no case that will be better than the 800d and yes i will be doing liquidcooling down the line but im being patient

Last edited by TH3GAMERFREAK; September 6, 2012 at 06:21 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #34 (permalink)  
Old September 6, 2012, 08:13 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 29
Default

should i do 32gb 1600 mhz ram or 16 2400 mhz then later upgrade to 64 1600mhz or 32gb of 2400

would 2400 be better for applications?

Last edited by TH3GAMERFREAK; September 6, 2012 at 09:09 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #35 (permalink)  
Old September 6, 2012, 10:42 AM
Dzzope's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Irishman in Kiev, wOOoo, I'm an alien...
Posts: 2,825

My System Specs

Default

You'll see no difference outside of benchmarks... And the Platinum ram as said before is way over-priced..

Grab 16 or if you really want it 32 GB of gskill sniper and you'll be good and have enough budget for a SSD twice the size your looking at..
Reply With Quote
  #36 (permalink)  
Old September 6, 2012, 12:15 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 29
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dzzope View Post
You'll see no difference outside of benchmarks... And the Platinum ram as said before is way over-priced..

Grab 16 or if you really want it 32 GB of gskill sniper and you'll be good and have enough budget for a SSD twice the size your looking at..
yea it will be better if i stay away from platinum. how will they help benchmarks?
Reply With Quote
  #37 (permalink)  
Old September 6, 2012, 12:33 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 29
Default

updated build:
corsair 800d
rampage 4 extreme
intel i7 3930k
corsair h100
{4 x 4gb} 16gb ddr3 1600 gskill ripjaws z series
nvidia evga 670 ftw+ 4gb
cooler master silent pro hybrid 1050w
12x internal blue ray burner
corsair neutron gtx series 240gb ssd
wd black caviar 1tb
Reply With Quote
  #38 (permalink)  
Old September 6, 2012, 06:44 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 71
Default

I think your good other than one last question, are you really going to use that Bluray burner? Who burns things anymore :P
Reply With Quote
  #39 (permalink)  
Old September 6, 2012, 10:33 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 29
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by zypho View Post
I think your good other than one last question, are you really going to use that Bluray burner? Who burns things anymore :P
its the only none oem is there anything i could do to make it better?

Last edited by TH3GAMERFREAK; September 7, 2012 at 07:21 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #40 (permalink)  
Old September 8, 2012, 07:55 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Waterloo
Posts: 12

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by redline View Post
Ahh, I forgot about X79's quad channel. You're absolutely right -- 4 DIMMs required.
marketing scheme. You dont require 4 dimms, its just that they run in quad channel mode.
you can mix up 2x4 corsair platinums, and g.skill tridents or whatever, and your mobo will clock them all down to the slowest dimm you've got. or you can even mix up your "tri channel" ram sticks and it'll run in quad channel mode.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
To build, or not to build: that is the question Timid newbe New Builds 5 August 12, 2010 04:33 AM
New Build- Corsair 800D --> My cleanest build ever. Watercooled btdvox Case Mods, Worklog & Gallery 28 May 11, 2010 01:07 PM
Windows 7 Build 7000 VS Windows XP SP3 Build 2600 Benchmarks Veritas Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 3 March 3, 2009 01:48 PM
Critique my gaming build build 1080p New Builds 10 January 14, 2009 03:18 PM