Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > New Builds

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old August 3, 2012, 06:22 PM
Rookie

Default New gaming/media build

1. mainly using it as a media center and as a gaming PC. (I'd like to be able to play games like BF3 or Crysis2 at max settings, and watch high quality movies)
  2. around 1650 Canadian dollars, but I can be a bit flexible with the price range. This is for the parts only excluding shipping, tax, ect...
  3. I'll be buying the parts from my country the United Arab Emirates.
  4. As for preferences I'll just say that I'd like to stick with an nvidia GPU and an Intel processor.
  5. I'll be re-Using my HDD's, DVD drive, Mouse, keyboard, and monitor,speakers.
  6. I don't really plan to Over Clock my PC and I have no former experience doing so.
  7. As for when am I going to build this PC isn't really set in stone. I'm in no real hurry, and can wait for a while but I'd prefer to get it done as soon as possible.
  8. With my current monitor I play at 1920x1080 @ 60Hz on my 40" LED.
  9. I'd like to have USB 3.0, and a hopefully a motherboard with good sound support since I'll be using my 5.1 home theater system. ( As I said before I use it as a media center too)

These are the parts that I chose for my build and would like some insight on any changes or improvements that can or should be done to my build:

• Processor: Intel Core i7-2600K Sandy Bridge 3.4GHz (3.8GHz Turbo Boost) LGA 1155 95W Quad-Core Desktop Processor Intel HD Graphics 3000 BX80623I72600K ($290)
  • Motherboard: ASUS Maximus V FORMULA LGA 1155 Intel Z77 HDMI SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 Extended ATX Intel Motherboard ($280)
  • Case: COOLER MASTER HAF 932 Advanced RC-932-KKN5-GP Black Steel ATX Full Tower Computer ($150)
  • Graphics Card: EVGA 02G-P4-2680-KR GeForce GTX 680 2GB 256-bit GDDR5 PCI Express 3.0 x16 HDCP Ready SLI Support Video Card ($500)