Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > New Builds

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old July 12, 2012, 09:20 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 7
Unhappy Getting 2 more monitors, what upgrades do i need to make?

My current build is as follows:
-Phenom II X4 955 BE
-Msi cyclone Radeon HD 6850
-PC power and cooling silencer MK II 650 watt
-Msi M5A97 motherboard

Obviously this current build wont provide strong enough performance to run games and applications with 3 monitors, so my question is, what is the easiest and cheapest way to make this possible? Iv thought of a couple things and am not sure which one to go with. The two things that hold me back the most are my low wattage psu and my motherboard's pcie slots run in 16x 4x. MY first idea was to get a 3gb graphic card like the radeon 7950 and run all three cards off of that. Another idea was to get a second 6850 and run 2 monitors off the 16x card and 1 off the 4x card. The other alternative is to get a new motherboard that supports 16x 16x and then get a second 6850.

But im just a noob, please pass along your professional feedback
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old July 12, 2012, 09:28 AM
MVP
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Québec, Canada
Posts: 412
Default

I just wouldn't run 3 monitors on such a system...but if I had to, the best solution would be a 7950/70 (just don't expect to be maxing BF3 at native resolutions).
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old July 12, 2012, 09:55 AM
dandelioneater's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Kelowna, BC
Posts: 1,114

My System Specs

Default

get a 7950 or 7970 or 680 and overclock the cpu.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old July 12, 2012, 06:04 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 7
Default

I plan on playing mostly Guild Wars 2, and the occasional fps, but im happy with 50 fps on above average to high settings
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old July 12, 2012, 09:04 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 25
Default

Just get a more powerful video card that fits within your power budget.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old July 13, 2012, 06:42 AM
MacGyver's Avatar
Rookie
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 17
Default

The most important piece of information: what resolution are you planning to run all three monitors at?
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old July 13, 2012, 08:06 AM
MVP
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Québec, Canada
Posts: 412
Default

The AMD 7 series and Nvidia 6 series should both have no problem with gw2 at that resolution but I dont know if you tried the beta events but it gets hella CPU bottlenecked in towns and populated areas (actually duno if this was fixed or is going to be fixed, I was only there for the first event, missed all the others since cause of bad timing).

My point is, maybe a phenom II might be a bigger problem for you than a gpu ur mobo/psu can handle (6850 will probably be too little to give a pleasant experience on 1080p x3 tho, so I would still upgrade that).
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Upgrades FrostbittinHD Video Cards 12 March 29, 2012 10:40 PM
Getting a few Upgrades on my PC DXStriker New Builds 1 October 28, 2011 02:57 PM
PC upgrades bassplayerdave New Builds 0 October 15, 2010 12:42 PM
Upgrades - help me decide zlojack Video Cards 0 August 8, 2008 01:30 PM