Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > New Builds

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old June 27, 2012, 06:55 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 18
Default New Build Glitchy Graphics

Hi Guys,

I just recently made a new PC, everything new.

I purchased the following:

P8z77-V PRO,
Intel i5 3570k


(NOTE: I'm using the integrated graphics from CPU)

From day one, i've been getting red/colored lines vertically through my screen for a quick second when #1, boot up, #2 sometimes when switching into or out of a window. (Always displayed when transferring through black screen for a second)

I didn't think too much of it, thought it might just need a driver update for the CPU or motherboard and now just passed my 15 days direct replacement. ( /sadface )

I'm wondering if you guys have experienced this and might know the cause, whether i should worry or not. (replace motherboard, cpu ASAP)

Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old June 27, 2012, 08:12 PM
MVP
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Québec, Canada
Posts: 411
Default

If I remember correctly on Ivy Bridge the built in GPU can also be overclocked...is your CPU/GPU overclocked? what kind of temps are you getting?
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old June 27, 2012, 08:45 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 18
Default

I haven't really touched anything yet, bios still needs to be updated, and i'm sure a lot of other things too. (i haven't over clocked it) Don't think it came over clocked, either
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old June 28, 2012, 12:30 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 57

My System Specs

Default

Did you uninstall your old graphics drivers, reboot and clean with Driver Sweeper?

Why do you say the BIOS needs to be updated?
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old June 28, 2012, 04:52 PM
MVP
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Québec, Canada
Posts: 411
Default

My asus z77 board overclocked my 2500k by itself without me telling it to, to 4.2ghz (since I had aftermarket cooling this was a non issue, but for some1 running stock cooling in a badly ventilated case I can see this causing issues. Check to make sure this is not ur case if you haven't already.

Although, it could be caused by a number of possible faulty components, from the processor to the motherboard. Once I even thought my brand new graphics card was faulty (visible artifacts) cause the way my case was designed (this was back in early 2003-4s, and DVI was just starting to emerge), the cable couldn't screw completely into the gpu and the loose cable was the only reason for artifacts!
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
graphics card for new build mrperfect1995 Video Cards 13 November 24, 2011 05:39 PM
Is graphics card X more or less powerful than graphics card Y Linus LinusTechTips Q&A 1 October 4, 2011 05:50 AM
Intel HD Graphics with Graphics Card MoUnit CPU's and Motherboards 4 August 6, 2011 03:54 PM
AMD Extends Graphics Performance Lead, Launches World's Fastest Graphics Card? Again! FiXT Press Releases & Tech News 2 March 8, 2011 02:32 PM
Case for graphics workstation build andiron Cases 5 January 31, 2011 07:41 PM