Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > New Builds

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old June 24, 2012, 12:20 PM
MVP
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Québec, Canada
Posts: 412
Default

I just noticed that's SC he posted and not SC2(and here I am suggesting 7950s and SB CPUs, lol)...derp! In that case just get urself an E350/450 board, the cheapest 4GB ram set you can find, and a case you can live with...srsly anything would do!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old June 24, 2012, 02:50 PM
great_big_abyss's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Winnipeg
Posts: 2,210

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hossdaddy View Post
he surfing the net and playing basic games why would you pick an 8 gig ram kit?
Because RAM is dirt cheap and pretty much the cheapest part of this build, so why not??
__________________



HTPC: Z77A-G45; 3770K; Coolermaster GeminII; 2x4GB Kingston HyperX 1600Mhz; MSI R7-260X; 2x 128GB Crucial M4 SSD; 1TB WD Green, 2x 2TB WD Green; PC P&C 750W PS; Fractal Design Node 605;
Son's Rig: M5A97; 1055T; CNPS20LQ; 2x4GB Corsair Vengeance 1600Mhz; ASUS GTX650Ti Boost; 80GB Intel 520 SSD; 320GB WD Black HDD; SPI 700W; Bitfenix Shinobi;
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old June 24, 2012, 06:37 PM
Allstar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Edmonton
Posts: 645

My System Specs

Default

Just running diablo 3 and this browser i'm @ 3.2 gig memory usage. At this point if I only had 4 gig of physical memory windows would create a super slow paging file and use virtual memory. With 8 gig you will be able not be slowed down by virtual memory.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old June 24, 2012, 08:08 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Ontario
Posts: 104

My System Specs

Default

Just wait for an ncix sale (evey Wednesday) and pick out components that are on sale from there. They usually have at least a mobo/cpu bundle every week for a good price and after that all you would need is ram and a case.

Or you could just price match everything you want if there is nothing good on sale.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old June 25, 2012, 10:26 AM
hossdaddy's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 127
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Masteroderus View Post
Just running diablo 3 and this browser i'm @ 3.2 gig memory usage. At this point if I only had 4 gig of physical memory windows would create a super slow paging file and use virtual memory. With 8 gig you will be able not be slowed down by virtual memory.
The reason you are using that much memory is because windows sees that you have 8 gigs ram and loads for things than it may need to for "convenience" If you had 4 gig installed you would only be using around 2 gigs.

Trust me I found it out when I upgraded to 8 gigs. I noticed that there was more things being loaded when I booted up when the only thing I changed was the ram kit.
__________________
Main System:
i5 3570k @ 4.6ghz | GA-Z77X-UD3H | Gigabyte GTX 670 | 8gb Redline 1600mhz | CM 690 | Logitech G9x | Mushkin Cronos 120gb ssd | Benq 24" | CM Hyper 212+ | Seasonic 750w | X-Fi Titanium | Sennheiser 350 | Razer blackwidow | Win 7 64-bit
Backup System:
AMD X2 7750 BE @ 3.0G | Asus M3A78-CM | 2x2gig 800mhz 4-4-4-12 | SB LIVE | Samsung 22" | Asus 9800gt | Antec NEO 620w | Logitech G5 | ThermalTake Matrix | Arctic Cooling Freezer 64
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old June 25, 2012, 10:59 AM
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: midland, ontario
Posts: 519
Default

I agree, this is a instant that this user shouldnt be buying a intel. Sorry intel fanboy's/sheep, but intel with there inferior igp/apu's will never touch the low/low mid especialy when a person wants to game on it. AMD simply has that locked in & will only improve as there cpu's core matures/evolves.

He should be looking at 1 of those AMD A10 trininty based cpu's + board + 1866+ DDR3 (8 gig minimum) & maybe even a low end 120 gig ssd drive unless he doesnt intend to put abunch of hard drive hoggin games on it then he might want a higher preforming 60-90 gig drive.
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old June 25, 2012, 11:58 AM
great_big_abyss's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Winnipeg
Posts: 2,210

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by terrybear View Post
I agree, this is a instant that this user shouldnt be buying a intel. Sorry intel fanboy's/sheep, but intel with there inferior igp/apu's will never touch the low/low mid especialy when a person wants to game on it. AMD simply has that locked in & will only improve as there cpu's core matures/evolves.

He should be looking at 1 of those AMD A10 trininty based cpu's + board + 1866+ DDR3 (8 gig minimum) & maybe even a low end 120 gig ssd drive unless he doesnt intend to put abunch of hard drive hoggin games on it then he might want a higher preforming 60-90 gig drive.
Trinity desktop is quite a ways away, so it's not really reasonable to recommend Trinity to somebody who wants to build a PC NOW. I stand by my Llano APU recommendation. It's the best bang for the buck at this point. He'll have enough money left over to buy a 120GB SSD in order to improve performance in day-to-day productivity.
__________________



HTPC: Z77A-G45; 3770K; Coolermaster GeminII; 2x4GB Kingston HyperX 1600Mhz; MSI R7-260X; 2x 128GB Crucial M4 SSD; 1TB WD Green, 2x 2TB WD Green; PC P&C 750W PS; Fractal Design Node 605;
Son's Rig: M5A97; 1055T; CNPS20LQ; 2x4GB Corsair Vengeance 1600Mhz; ASUS GTX650Ti Boost; 80GB Intel 520 SSD; 320GB WD Black HDD; SPI 700W; Bitfenix Shinobi;
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old June 27, 2012, 02:19 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 86

My System Specs

Default

Wow thanks everyone for the builds. Really appreciate it! This gives me a lot to look at . Yeah I wont need 8 gigs, 4 gigs is good enough for me. I'm ganna take a look at the APU's by AMD. Most probably I could just use an integrated graphics chip so that should save me money :)

This PC is just a replacement for my old PC not made for heavy gaming but for youtube mostly. I need something that will last long and still be fast for years to come.

What cpu has the best integrated graphics ? Intel HD4000 or an APU from Amd?
__________________
Build: i7-920, EVGA GTX 285, XFX X58i Extreme Edition , 2GB x 3 DDR3 - Patriot Viper, ThermalTake M9 V1000series, Ultra LSP 650w, Western Digital 500GB @7200rpm,

Last edited by hen555; June 27, 2012 at 02:30 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old June 27, 2012, 02:29 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 86

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BrutalGreen View Post
I just noticed that's SC he posted and not SC2(and here I am suggesting 7950s and SB CPUs, lol)...derp!
haha yea I meant sc2
__________________
Build: i7-920, EVGA GTX 285, XFX X58i Extreme Edition , 2GB x 3 DDR3 - Patriot Viper, ThermalTake M9 V1000series, Ultra LSP 650w, Western Digital 500GB @7200rpm,
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old June 27, 2012, 02:46 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 86

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by great_big_abyss View Post
somebody who wants to build a PC NOW.
How long till Trinity apu's come out? I can probably wait till end of August for this build.
__________________
Build: i7-920, EVGA GTX 285, XFX X58i Extreme Edition , 2GB x 3 DDR3 - Patriot Viper, ThermalTake M9 V1000series, Ultra LSP 650w, Western Digital 500GB @7200rpm,
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
GTX 570 Make Rocyaic Video Cards 14 July 5, 2011 05:12 PM
cant make to 4gb hohohee RAM 17 July 17, 2010 10:43 AM
How do you make a PVR? BrianHanna HTPC Systems & Software 6 December 14, 2009 11:53 PM
[Request] can someone make me a budget build? 600 CDN without tax cruisx New Builds 11 August 4, 2009 10:39 AM
Can i make something out of this? CactusJoe New Builds 17 November 7, 2008 04:46 PM