Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > New Builds

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old June 5, 2012, 07:48 PM
Rookie

Smile Silent Build w/o water cooling?

I'm new to hardwarecanucks so i'm sorry if I do something or mention something that's wrong. I THINK i'm posting in the right section?

1. I'm mainly using my computer to play Diablo 3 and Dota + i like to keep LOTS of tabs open on my web browsers 20-30 tabs at once (more ram required?) OH yeah i do a bit of photo editing if you need to know that.

2. My budget currently is $850 Canadian dollars ($900 max including tax) w/o VIDEO CARD***. Also, i'd prefer retailers i can buy from in person. NCIX and MemoryExpress are ones can i go to.

3. I live in BC. Obviously Canada

4. I do prefer Intel over AMD, but other than that i'm good with any other brands

5. I don't intend on using any old components.

6. I don't have any intentions to OC atm.

7. I'm looking for opinions on which components i should get for the following

A) Case (very quiet/silent without compromising too much ventilation)
B) Power supply (fanless or a very quiet one)<-- 500W or greater & a reliable brand?
C) Processor (from Intel, sorry AMD-fanboys/gals) <-- looking for ivy bridge i5's if that can fit the budget
D) CPU cooler (no fan heatsink but a closed loop water cooling system) <--Example the corsair H40? H60?
E) Motherboard (won't be crossfire-ing or sli-ing)
F) Hard Drive (plan to get the WD 2TB green drive/ maybe an SSD boot drive if that can fit the budget?)
G) Video Card*** (best bang for the buck or onboard until the gtx 660's and 650's come out?)
H) RAM
I) Anything else that I've missed

Thanks a bunch!

Last edited by TimidTeddy; June 5, 2012 at 07:59 PM.
Old June 5, 2012, 11:02 PM
Hall Of Fame

My System Specs

Quote:
Originally Posted by TimidTeddy View Post

6. I don't have any intentions to OC atm.

A) Case (very quiet/silent without compromising too much ventilation)