Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > New Builds

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old May 17, 2012, 10:19 PM
Rookie

Default Semi-Budget Gaming Setup, max budget ~$1000

Hi everyone,

This is my first time posting. Let me start off by saying that this website is wonderful; it's extremely informative. I am looking to build a PC this summer, and would like some advice. This rig will be used primarily for gaming purposes, with some video editing and rendering on the side.

My budget (for the desktop component) maxes out at $1000, not including the monitor.

Here are some of my thoughts thus far:

CPU: Intel i5-2500k

Motherboard: Z77? Z68? I'm not really sure about this component; motherboards tend to give me headaches.

GPU: Nvidia Geforce 560Ti (most likely one of the MSI cards; I love their cooling design)

HDD: Western Digital Caviar Black 1TB

SSD: I'm not sure if it would fit into my budget or not; I would really like one though!

RAM: Mushkin Enhanced Silverline Stiletto 8GB (open to suggestion)

PSU: Not sure about this one either. I would think a 650W power supply would be more than enough for a single card? I would like to have the opportunity to upgrade in the future though. Also, I have the mindset that a good PSU is the backbone of a good build; as such, a PSU of good quality is a must.

Case: Coolermaster 690II advanced Mid-tower

DVD drives: irrelevant, really :P

And there you have it.

One point I am unsure of is cooling; I would like to overclock my CPU as well as GPU, and am uncertain if the stock cooling solution will be able to keep up. Anyways, any advice that you guys have for me would be great! Especially along the lines of motherboard recommendations and what kind of PSU to go for.

Thanks for your help in advance!
Old May 17, 2012, 10:33 PM
Hall Of Fame

My System Specs

For a 2500k get a z68 board.