Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > New Builds

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old June 2, 2012, 07:33 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 17
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BlueByte View Post
If you have never built a pc before I would stress one thing... Static... Just be careful of that and any other mistake can usually be undone.
Whats the best brand of the anti static wristband? Thank you guys for the advice
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old June 2, 2012, 07:44 PM
Dzzope's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Irishman in Kiev, wOOoo, I'm an alien...
Posts: 2,728

My System Specs

Default

You don't need one really... they are good if your handling parts allot but I have yet to use one ouside of a workshop with no issues..

Just discharge any static by touching a radiator with both hands before you start and only touch components by the edge of the PCB's (the board) you'll be fine.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old June 2, 2012, 07:47 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 17
Default

Alright cool, thank you, so far I assembled the motherboard with the cpu, wish me luck to successfully finish it.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old June 2, 2012, 07:50 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 17
Default

by the way, what happens if you don't apply the thermal paste on the cpu cooler "hyper 212 plus"?
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old June 2, 2012, 07:59 PM
Dzzope's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Irishman in Kiev, wOOoo, I'm an alien...
Posts: 2,728

My System Specs

Default

Your processor will run hotter than it should.

You should use a pea sized blob in the sentre of the CPU.. there are a few different ways people suggest..


Personally I tend to use slightly less than slightly more paste. place the cooler for 2 mins with mounted pressure and then lift to see if the paste has made it to each corner of the cpu..
If it has simply re-place it, if not, use a tiny bit more in the centre of the area that has no paste yet..

You don't want to lift it off too often.. You should be able to do it in 1 - 2 lifts.
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old June 3, 2012, 05:16 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 17
Default

I'm done with building the computer, question before I turn on. I have a usb dvd drive instead of the opitcal drive, will the computer work read the windows 7 disc or do I need a optical drive?
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old June 3, 2012, 05:54 PM
Dzzope's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Irishman in Kiev, wOOoo, I'm an alien...
Posts: 2,728

My System Specs

Default

Just set it to boot from usb in bios.. Should be fine.
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old June 4, 2012, 10:31 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 17
Default

The computer worked, for the drivers should I install it from the website or cd it came with?

Last edited by rhspeed206; June 5, 2012 at 03:33 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old June 5, 2012, 06:41 AM
BigPhatPaulie's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Alberta
Posts: 433

My System Specs

Default

Website if possible they will always be the most up to date but it doesnt usually hurt to use the disk first and update later
__________________
FOR PONY..... that is alll
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old June 5, 2012, 06:55 AM
Dzzope's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Irishman in Kiev, wOOoo, I'm an alien...
Posts: 2,728

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BigPhatPaulie View Post
Website if possible they will always be the most up to date but it doesnt usually hurt to use the disk first and update later
Just skip the disk... less you install the better (less crap on the machine) the generic ones built into windows will do till you dl and install the most up-to-date versions.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Tags
3d animation , 3ds max , firepro , maya , workstation

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Workstation build kpamir New Builds 4 March 5, 2011 06:50 PM
ITX Linux Workstation Build kingnubian New Builds 10 May 26, 2010 10:08 PM
Low Noise Workstation Build jwebby New Builds 0 September 10, 2009 08:28 PM
Xeon Workstation Build TOBoiDan CPU's and Motherboards 6 February 8, 2008 10:35 AM
Mockup Workstation Build for $600-800 Amon Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 3 December 24, 2007 09:44 PM