Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > New Builds

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old May 13, 2012, 08:07 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 31
Default

Thanks alot, but where am I putting in this code?
I can't find anything on their website?
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old May 13, 2012, 08:22 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 31
Default

Is this service number on the back of my graphics card or my computer?
I'm a bit confused!
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old May 13, 2012, 08:40 AM
NSdeadly1's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Amherst, Nova Scotia
Posts: 238

My System Specs

Default

It should be on the computer's exterior somewhere. Likely on one of the side panels. When you find it got to Dell's support page and you should find the options there. Just follow the prompts. Welcome to Dell Support
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old May 13, 2012, 09:26 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 31
Default

Yep, I found it on the back of the computer!
I've downloaded the files it told me too, they didn't do a thing?
I'm thinking about maybe buying the exact same graphics card, but obviously one that works?:)
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old May 13, 2012, 09:34 AM
Adzsask's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: SK
Posts: 831

My System Specs

Default

DO NOT upgrade that computer, it is basically like burning money just nothing good can come from it, grab a summer job when school is out and start saving, any money put into a pre built machine that old is purely a waste. You can probably find a second hand machine on the forum here that will cost less then a new power supply,RAM, and graphics card.
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old May 13, 2012, 09:48 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 31
Default

Hmm, I will look into it, and I'm on study leave now for my exams, got about 3 weeks of school left and I'm applying for a job tomorrow :D
But, wouldn't it be also be easy to buy the same graphics card I already have?
Its not going to be expensive because it is an old one?

But just a general question about RAM; does a computer have to have certain things about it to accept a certain amount of RAM, or can I just go ahead and buy RAM and stick it in?:)
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old May 13, 2012, 10:14 AM
Adzsask's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: SK
Posts: 831

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by AdamHuw View Post
Hmm, I will look into it, and I'm on study leave now for my exams, got about 3 weeks of school left and I'm applying for a job tomorrow :D
But, wouldn't it be also be easy to buy the same graphics card I already have?
Its not going to be expensive because it is an old one?

But just a general question about RAM; does a computer have to have certain things about it to accept a certain amount of RAM, or can I just go ahead and buy RAM and stick it in?:)
My honest opinion, if you are asking the questions you are on here, you should pay someone to build you a custom PC to suit your needs/budget.
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old May 13, 2012, 10:20 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 31
Default

Hmm, I'll save money before anything :\
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old May 13, 2012, 02:59 PM
neptune3d's Avatar
Rookie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 7

My System Specs

Thumbs up

Quote:
Originally Posted by AdamHuw View Post
Hmm, I will look into it, and I'm on study leave now for my exams, got about 3 weeks of school left and I'm applying for a job tomorrow :D
But, wouldn't it be also be easy to buy the same graphics card I already have?
Its not going to be expensive because it is an old one?

But just a general question about RAM; does a computer have to have certain things about it to accept a certain amount of RAM, or can I just go ahead and buy RAM and stick it in?:)
No, on dells site it will list the type of ram your machine uses, it will be something like DDR or DDR2 with a speed. If you download the manual for your machine(same site you got the drivers from) it will say in there. You also need to check to make sure you have room in your box for additional memory.

Point two, you did good and extracted the files, now you have to install them. Go to wherever you extracted them to and look for a file called setup, install, or something similar, run it, reboot and see if you get your graphics back.
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old May 13, 2012, 06:38 PM
The Quicken's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: BC CANADA
Posts: 278

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Adzsask View Post
My honest opinion, if you are asking the questions you are on here, you should pay someone to build you a custom PC to suit your needs/budget.

^^
This. FYI, you should not be charged more than a $100 labor at a PC shop to build a new computer for you (and it better include a solid warranty for that price).
That being said, make friends with someone you know (school?) who is Hardware literate. They would charge you less and you could be actively involved in the build (good learning opportunity).
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Is graphics card X more or less powerful than graphics card Y Linus LinusTechTips Q&A 1 October 4, 2011 06:50 AM
Intel HD Graphics with Graphics Card MoUnit CPU's and Motherboards 4 August 6, 2011 04:54 PM
AMD Extends Graphics Performance Lead, Launches World's Fastest Graphics Card? Again! FiXT Press Releases & Tech News 2 March 8, 2011 03:32 PM
Buying a RAID card doup93 Storage 3 December 3, 2010 06:09 AM
Buying a video card, need help. phantom478 Video Cards 11 July 6, 2009 01:19 PM