Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > New Builds

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old May 5, 2012, 02:24 PM
Rookie

Default Gaming PC

Hi, Canucks!

I'm very new to this whole PC building business, and I live in a remote community. So I obviously need access to talented people who can give me the best bang for my buck when building a gaming PC. So without further ado, let's get started.

Case: Corsair 600T (White)
MOBO: Unknown
SSD: 2x Corsair Force GT 120GB SSD
RAM: Corsair 16GB (2x8GB)
GPU: Unknown, something good. :)
Data Drive(HDD): Something big, for media storage.
PSU: 750w Corsair

And then the other things, I don't really know what I need. I have only ever really bought pre-fab PCs. I currently use a Gateway and I really really really need an upgrade before Guild Wars 2 comes out.

So any help would be appreciated. I just really need a clear list of "buy this" items so I can order them.

Last edited by Jake.; May 5, 2012 at 09:19 PM.
Old May 5, 2012, 02:51 PM
MVP

I would recommend a 2500k for your CPU, seems about the best bang for buck right now. Also any reason why 2x SSD? RAID? You might want to lay out what your budget is as well, helps with people picking components for you.
Old May 5, 2012, 03:21 PM
Hall Of Fame

My System Specs

Resolution you play at? budget? planned use?
Old May 5, 2012, 04:13 PM
Rookie

1920x 1080, 1250-1750, Gaming. And yes, RAID, I'd heard it makes SSDs faster and boot times shorter.

EDIT: Sorry, didn't realize how sparse my initial details were.
Old May 5, 2012, 04:26 PM
Hall Of Fame

My System Specs

First, love the case..

Second do you have the SSD's or planning on buying them?

my suggestion would be a
z77 Board
intel i5 3570k
GTX 670 (when released on the 10th)
8GB ram
CM 212 cooler
Seasonic, xfx, antec, corsair PSU (all seasonic built ones).. 650 watt for a single card and 850 if you plan to ever do SLI... Not that a 670 will need SLI for quite some time at your resolution..