Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > New Builds

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old April 26, 2012, 06:23 AM
trancewhiiz's Avatar
Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: BC
Posts: 28
Default

Interesting you're going with Vista as OS. May I ask why Vista over Win 7?
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old April 26, 2012, 08:35 AM
Dzzope's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Irishman in Kiev, wOOoo, I'm an alien...
Posts: 2,823

My System Specs

Default

Probably cos he already owns it?

if not good point.. get win 7... basically the same as Vista but more stable and better drivers.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old April 26, 2012, 08:40 AM
BigPhatPaulie's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Alberta
Posts: 439

My System Specs

Default

Not only that but vista is less bloated. Also if your sure you want a 6 core get the 3930k isntead. It only looses some clock speed and a bit of cache but its also $400 (maybe more) cheaper than the X.
At any rate good luck!
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old April 26, 2012, 08:51 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Halifax
Posts: 9
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by trancewhiiz View Post
Interesting you're going with Vista as OS. May I ask why Vista over Win 7?

Nope, that was supposed to read Windows 7 Ultimate. Sorry about that. I am currently running Windows 7 Ultimate.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old April 26, 2012, 08:53 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Halifax
Posts: 9
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dzzope View Post
Intel 520's are simply the best sandforce based drive available and have a rock solid warrenty.

On the point of having 2 boxes... if your not in a huge rush for the renders.. why not just keep the q6600 doing the renders and save yet more on new builds...

If your going down the 2 box route that is.

This is probably what i am going to do for the first little while. And I will have a peek at the 520's

Jeff.
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old April 26, 2012, 11:06 AM
SpaceSquad's Avatar
Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 40

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by InvertedAerialX View Post
Nope, that was supposed to read Windows 7 Ultimate. Sorry about that. I am currently running Windows 7 Ultimate.
Read earlier that Win7 is only detecting 4GB...do you have a 32-bit version of Win7?? Because that isn't going to be sufficient as it won't address your ridiculous amount of memory.
__________________
-Space
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old April 26, 2012, 11:19 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Halifax
Posts: 9
Default

I am currently running Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit. Which is why I have absolutely NO CLUE why it is only detecting only 4GB of ram.

While so many people are reading this, I have yet another question. Apparently, the i7 3960X does NOT come with a fan. Should I choose to be an idiot and gt it anyway...how do I find a fan or an "air cooling heat sink"? that will attach to this board.

I do not want liquid cooling simply because I have no idea to to use it, hook it up, change fluid and most likely would end up electrocuting myself and starting a house fire.

So My plan is to purchase either the i& 3930 or the 3960X. What else do I need to attach to it to keep it cool?

Jeff.
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old April 26, 2012, 12:16 PM
great_big_abyss's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Winnipeg
Posts: 2,211

My System Specs

Default

Most coolers will fit X79. You might want to consider one of the 'all-in-one liquid coolers like the Corsair H80.
__________________



HTPC: Z77A-G45; 3770K; Coolermaster GeminII; 2x4GB Kingston HyperX 1600Mhz; MSI R7-260X; 2x 128GB Crucial M4 SSD; 1TB WD Green, 2x 2TB WD Green; PC P&C 750W PS; Fractal Design Node 605;
Son's Rig: M5A97; 1055T; CNPS20LQ; 2x4GB Corsair Vengeance 1600Mhz; ASUS GTX650Ti Boost; 80GB Intel 520 SSD; 320GB WD Black HDD; SPI 700W; Bitfenix Shinobi;
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old April 27, 2012, 10:02 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Halifax
Posts: 9
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by great_big_abyss View Post
Most coolers will fit X79. You might want to consider one of the 'all-in-one liquid coolers like the Corsair H80.
Ncix has video in tech tips of installing an LGA2011 Series chip then the Corsair H100 on top of it, so, I figure, if I watch the video while doing it, I can do it too! LOL!

Jeff.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
best gaming/multimedia mechanical keyboard? simsin Peripherals 7 November 10, 2011 05:55 AM
ASUS Adds Rumble Impact to Gaming and Multimedia with CineVibe Headphones FiXT Press Releases & Tech News 0 August 10, 2010 11:59 AM
[FS] i7 920 Gaming Machine LC0g Buy/Sell & Trade 26 February 19, 2010 01:32 PM
No budget multimedia/gaming rig build. Viceroy New Builds 35 October 21, 2009 12:14 AM
gaming/multimedia keyboard mo' power Peripherals 0 April 9, 2007 06:12 PM