Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > New Builds

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old April 25, 2012, 09:58 AM
Allstar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Edmonton
Posts: 645

My System Specs

Default AMD CPU Questions

Hello.

I was wondering if there would be any point to going with the 8150 vs the 4100 bulldozer chips with respect to gaming.

I am upgrading to a trifire loadout with 3 6950 with unlocked shaders and 6970 clocks. I want something that will take my bf3 experience from ~ 45 fps to a solid 60 @ 1680x1050 on ultra with msaa enabled. But I do not really like the bulldozer chips currently, and would gladly put a 1090 or a 1100 hexa core or a 9xx black edition quad core but they're not available in my area. I also plan to upgrade to piledriver as I have a feeling they'll be better than a 1100T and a 980 in every benchmark.

Thus I would prefer the 4100, but I fear it won't be significantly better than my 3.8 GHz x2 250.

Thanks for your time.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old April 25, 2012, 10:07 AM
dandelioneater's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Kelowna, BC
Posts: 1,114

My System Specs

Default

The 4100 might be a slight improvement for the time being if you can clock it past 4 GHz. I think you can get ~4.3-4.4 GHz with them. Single threaded performance is still poor with those chips even when clocked high though.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old April 25, 2012, 10:09 AM
Adzsask's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: SK
Posts: 831

My System Specs

Default

Keep searching for an 1100/1090T, otherwise I would wait to see what piledriver brings. If you want something now z68/2500k.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old April 25, 2012, 11:04 AM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,478

My System Specs

Default

If your only choice ATM is BD, and you're currently running a X3, I'd really question whether or not a 4100 is going to be much of an upgrade for you. I'm still holding out for a sub $200 8150 (because that's what an equivalent 1090t goes for if you can find it) before even considering a BD even though I'm currently running an X2 Athlon on a 990FX chipset board which just seems wrong........ ;)

And wow.... just did a quick search on NCIX and didn't come up with a single BD product other than an upcoming WC'd version @ damn near $400.... did NCIX drop BD support completely?
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old April 25, 2012, 11:22 AM
MVP
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Sunshine coast, BC
Posts: 471
Default

Google Translate

I think you're better off skipping the x4 and go right to x6/x8 cores. X2 250 just isn't in the ball park.

Option 2 a x4 960t 3hgz might un lock to a stable x6 if you get lucky. Unlocking cores is luck of the draw though.
__________________
x4 965BE 3.7ghz / Tuniq Tower 120/ xfire HD6870s / G Skill 12800CL9D 4x4GBXL/ S12D 850w/ GA 990FXA-UD3 /WD640AALS Black, WD1TB FALS x1, / Dell IPS 1920x1080/ Win 7 64
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old April 25, 2012, 11:46 AM
Allstar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Edmonton
Posts: 645

My System Specs

Default

Thanks guys.

I would wait for a piledriver, or a used phenom to appear, but I need the chip quick. I'll just have to shell out 229 for a 8150

:(
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old April 25, 2012, 11:55 AM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,478

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sswilson View Post
If your only choice ATM is BD, and you're currently running a X3, I'd really question whether or not a 4100 is going to be much of an upgrade for you. I'm still holding out for a sub $200 8150 (because that's what an equivalent 1090t goes for if you can find it) before even considering a BD even though I'm currently running an X2 Athlon on a 990FX chipset board which just seems wrong........ ;)

And wow.... just did a quick search on NCIX and didn't come up with a single BD product other than an upcoming WC'd version @ damn near $400.... did NCIX drop BD support completely?

My search skills were lacking this afternoon... they have stock, just not linked under AM3+ or through a search of "Zambezi". Only way I can see to access them is to select all processors and then AMD.
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old April 25, 2012, 12:18 PM
Allstar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 713
Default

If you don't have an AM3+ motherboard already, why bother with BD? The current benchmarks just doesn't hold up against Intel in FPS and in power consumption. I'm only looking at Piledriver because I got a spare board lying around.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old April 25, 2012, 01:31 PM
Allstar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Edmonton
Posts: 645

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by moocow View Post
If you don't have an AM3+ motherboard already, why bother with BD? The current benchmarks just doesn't hold up against Intel in FPS and in power consumption. I'm only looking at Piledriver because I got a spare board lying around.
I do have an am3+ mobo, the ASUS Crosshair V.

Isn't it so cool that AMD supports so many generations of chips on one mobo? :D
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old April 25, 2012, 01:35 PM
Shadowmeph's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 3,350

My System Specs

Default

That is the one huge thing I love ABout AMD is
Quote:
Isn't it so cool that AMD supports so many generations of chips on one mobo? :D
and the lower prices compared to Intel
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
RAM oc questions davidbongman Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 0 October 7, 2010 01:16 PM
HON - Questions trayton Gaming 4 May 1, 2010 11:54 AM
WD RMA Questions Dr_BenD_over Off Topic 15 April 15, 2010 02:44 PM
MW2 several questions Mobile_Crysis Gaming 7 February 23, 2010 07:32 AM
G25 Questions Cadence Peripherals 6 June 24, 2009 08:06 AM