Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > New Builds

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old March 2, 2012, 06:14 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 47

My System Specs

Default Where to clip Grounding strap

So something I've been wondering about for a while, is where the best place to clip a grounding strap when working on a PC. Can you clip it to just the case and be fine, or do you have to install the PSU, plug it in to an outlet, then clip to the case? On that note, as long as you're grounded, does it matter if you're standing on carpet as you assemble/work on your rig, as long as it isn't on the carpet/floor?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old March 2, 2012, 06:35 PM
KaptCrunch's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Ontario
Posts: 2,923
Default

electricty travels the shortest distance , if strap on wrist . so the current goes to the band thats grounded

note most use a anti-static mat

always touch case before touching MB
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old March 2, 2012, 06:49 PM
grinder's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 821

My System Specs

Default

correct LordHood2!

if the PC isnt plugged in, it is not grounded (earthed). My service bench at the office is made if steel and is grounded direcetly to a nearby outlet.
__________________
Phenom II 945 :: ASUS M4A78-E (780G) :: BFG 285GTX :: 4GB Mushkin DDR2 (5-4-4-12) :: Creative Xi-Fi :: Seagate 500 gig 7200.12 (better than WD BLACK!!!!!) :: Samsung 2493HM
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[Electricians] Grounding living room in old house (for htpc) 0o0 Off Topic 24 May 10, 2010 07:56 PM
Question about anti static wrist strap BootlegUsher Troubleshooting 23 February 15, 2010 05:22 PM
Grounding? bumfloss New Builds 16 April 20, 2009 05:21 PM
Grounding HDD necessary? MpG Storage 9 March 22, 2009 10:51 AM
Grounding yourself? fawconpunch Troubleshooting 17 June 29, 2008 06:27 PM