Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > New Builds

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old February 16, 2012, 04:55 PM
Top Prospect

My System Specs

Default Cooler Master Hyper 212 Evo help needed

Now I know this will sound like a very stupid question but in my case the instruction manual is less than clear when it comes to telling you how to adjust the little x-shaped pressure mechanism on top of the heatsink's base. I'll admit this is my first time using an aftermarket cooler as I am about to install it in my new rig.

As you know the x-shaped bracket (or retention plate as it is called in the manual) has a little screw in the center surrounded by a metal spring. This little bolt goes into a hole at the top of the heatsink's base, right? Well, my questions is this: is one supposed to screw the little bolt into the hole? Do you turn it until it tightens the retention plate or does on just leave it there until you screw in the rest of the bolts on the motherboard itself?

Again, i know this might sound very, very stupid to 99.9% of you but this is my first time doing it, so I would appreciate some advice on the matter

Thanks
Old February 16, 2012, 04:59 PM
Allstar
F@H

My System Specs

Loosen the bolt in the middle of the x bracket so it is just threaded in, then install and tighten bracket to the cooler/mobo. The center bolt is to up the pressure on your CPU, when fully tightened it is 70LBS of pressure. I have run 3 different thermalright coolers with this function, and it adds a few C with it tightened all the way.
Old February 16, 2012, 05:11 PM
Top Prospect

My System Specs

Ok..... so I really don't have to screw in the bolt in the center of the bracket then? OK
Old February 16, 2012, 06:11 PM
MVP
F@H

My System Specs