Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > New Builds

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old February 10, 2012, 03:32 AM
Lyserberg

Default My 3rd Build - contribute AT MAX!

Hello HWC peeps and geeks and no-lifes
I wanna know what do you think about my third build in my life
Let's reveal my 2 previous rigs configs:
1st (2003-2009) it was a flagship at that time,and it managed to run Wolfenstein at 60FPS with no slowdown what so ever :D :
Pentuim 4 (single core) 2.4GHZ
an old SIS card (64MB SDRAM) after that i switched to the NVIDIA FX5500 128MB of DDR RAM and defenatly fasten everything along it :)
128MB DDR RAM,and then i upgraded to 384RAM (by adding a 256 STICK) giving me so many slowdowns due to not operating in dual channel
an IDE 40GB drive.
Now my second (2009-present) you have to know that so far i was a PC noob when it comes down to latest technology,we didn't have internet at house,and this just got it worse :(
Pentuim E2200 DC (Dual core) 2.2GHZ
an NVIDIA 8400GS 512MB of DDR2 RAM,after that i upgraded to 9400GT 1GB card which still works perfetc in some old titles (for now it's still hard for this card to break the 30FPS mark in COD MW3,Battlefield 3,AC Revelations,and i can't no more LOCK 60FPS in FIFA 12)
2GB DDR2 66Z MHZ
Now that was really a huge upgrade over the last generation PC,but i feel i didn't choose the right thing to go with :(
Now my third BUILD which is just an idea that needs probably some opinions to put it right,now at this period i'm a REAL PC NERD,i know everything about the latest technology thanks to some cool youtube channels like LinusTechTips or/and Motherboards.org:
This is what i expect getting:
Intel Core i5 2500k (i'm going to enable turbo boost)
8GB DDR3 1600MHZ RAM (cool and nice for both gaming and video encoding,and probably for some 64Bits apps that might need to eat RAM for dinner)
NVIDA GTX550Ti