Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > New Builds

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old January 26, 2012, 04:26 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 8
Question Intel Quad core Q8200 cpu

Hi guys i am planing on changing my mother board and ram for my cpu can u pl tel me what is a good mother board and how much ram i would need to get maximum performance from my cpu. thank you for any adivice.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old January 26, 2012, 04:43 PM
Allstar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 714
Default

What motherboard are you using now? IMO, the CPU is too old to worth investing new gear in. The DDR2 RAM cost more per GB than DDR3 and Socket 775 are pretty limited these days.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old January 26, 2012, 04:51 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 2,864

My System Specs

Default

^^Agreed. If you are upgrading, then you need to step up to something newer.
__________________
Desktop: Antec Three Hundred, Z77-D3H, 3570K undervolt @4.1ghz with Zalman Optima Cooler, Corsair Vengeance 2x4gb@1866mhz, MSI Cyclone GTX 460, Seasonic S12II 500W, WD Black 1TB, Intel 530 120GB
Away from home light Gamer: Acer Aspire 15.6", A8-3500m undervolt and OC to 2Ghz, 2x4gb Corsair Vengeance, Crucial M500 240gb
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old January 26, 2012, 06:01 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 30
Default

since you want to upgrade..why dont u just put up some notch to it.then you will be happy with your rig performances.thats only my opinion..lol
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old January 26, 2012, 06:23 PM
bigFOIG's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Vancouver, B.C.
Posts: 426

My System Specs

Default

what's your budget? like the others said, you should probably upgrade it all
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old January 27, 2012, 12:31 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 8
Default

im using an Intel g31 motherboard now.im planing on upgrading to a motherboard which supports dd3 ram.any suggestions ? my bidget is about 300 dollars for the ram and motherboard
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old January 27, 2012, 01:17 AM
Silent_Avenger's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Toronto
Posts: 472

My System Specs

Default

So is the only reason you're upgrading is to get ddr3 ram? If it is it's not worth it, save up a little longer and upgrade the whole system to current hardware.
__________________
Main System //// Dedicated Folding PC 1 //// Dedicated Folding PC 2 //// Laptop

Youtube Channel: http://www.youtube.com/DarkDivinityPC

I fold for a cure. Team 213366 and 54196.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Tags
upgrade

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Intel Core i5-760, Parity Quad Core CPU Performance and OC Guide windwithme CPU's and Motherboards 3 October 21, 2010 08:36 AM
is a quad core phenom or phenom2 better then intel dual core? Shadowmeph CPU's and Motherboards 9 September 7, 2009 07:05 PM
Intel Core 2 Quad Q8200 vs Intel Core 2 Duo E8500 Hanibal{CA} New Builds 18 August 10, 2009 07:53 PM
[WTB] Intel Quad Core CPU chouchou Buy/Sell & Trade 3 November 26, 2008 10:38 PM
which of Intel Core 2 Quad CPU's can be OC'ed? Reinvented2 CPU's and Motherboards 10 September 7, 2008 08:09 AM