Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > New Builds

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old February 3, 2012, 11:15 AM
ern88's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Halifax, Nova Scotia
Posts: 277

My System Specs

Default

Yes, that system is over kill for iRAcing. But other games be great.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old February 3, 2012, 12:04 PM
great_big_abyss's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Winnipeg
Posts: 2,208

My System Specs

Default

IMO you should go for the X-fire 7970's. They'll be much more powerful than a single 6990 or GTX590. Perfect for playing high end games at 5760x1200 with all the eyecandy turned on.

Beautiful build, btw. I wish I had the kind of money to plop down on a build like that. Replace the 3930 with a 3960 and that's pretty much my dream machine!
__________________



HTPC: Z77A-G45; 3770K; Coolermaster GeminII; 2x4GB Kingston HyperX 1600Mhz; MSI R7-260X; 2x 128GB Crucial M4 SSD; 1TB WD Green, 2x 2TB WD Green; PC P&C 750W PS; Fractal Design Node 605;
Son's Rig: M5A97; 1055T; CNPS20LQ; 2x4GB Corsair Vengeance 1600Mhz; ASUS GTX650Ti Boost; 80GB Intel 520 SSD; 320GB WD Black HDD; SPI 700W; Bitfenix Shinobi;
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old February 3, 2012, 03:27 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 8
Default Thanks Musicman

Thanks Musicman.

I will definitely get Microsoft Windows Pro so I can use greater than 16GB RAM, even though I may cut back the RAM to 16GB at the start.

However, I will definitely get two of the new HD7970s, probably the ASUS version HD7970-3GD5. See ASUSTeK Computer Inc. - Graphics Cards- ASUS HD7970-3GD5

I believe the other two ASUS HD7970s (HD7970-DC2-3GD5 and HD7970-DC2T-3GD5) would be too big to fit on the ASUS Rampage IV Extreme MOBO along with the ASUS Xonar Essence STX sound card. I may drop the sound card if the sound on the MOBO is high quality as I have a large music library mostly in FLAC format on my home NAS.

See: ASUSTeK Computer Inc. - Graphics Cards- ASUS HD7970-DC2-3GD5 and
ASUSTeK Computer Inc. - Graphics Cards- ASUS HD7970-DC2T-3GD5

I do not feel comfortable doing custom water cooling. I will probably use the Corsair H80 or H100 unit with the radiator instead.

I will check out the 120GB OCZ Revodrive 3 which you say is 2X faster.

I have looked at Tom's Hardware's SSD Hierarchy Chart dated December 29,2011 which indicated that the Corsair Force 3 240GB was in Tier 4 (costs about $323). The Corsair Force GT 240GB was in Tier 2 and cost about $420 (about $100 more); however I see there is now a $40 rebate on the GT so I was thinking of upgrading to the GT version for only $60 more. The Tier 1 level has the OCZ Vertex 3 Max IOPs 240GB which costs about $485 (about $160 more than the Corsair Force 3). The OCZ Vertex 3 Max IOPs 120GB costs about $400 versus the 240GB version at $485. I might spend the extra $85 to get the 240GB version as I want to ensure there is sufficient room for the OS plus the games. It seems that everything good is just a $100 or so more. Damn! :)
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old February 3, 2012, 03:45 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 8
Default

Thanks Ern 88 and Great Big Abyss.

It will be overkill for iRacing but not for the other games I plan to play. Plus it should last a long time before becoming obsolete.

I am definitely going with 2 HD7970s. Regarding the 3960 versus 3930, I think the extra cost is not worth it as I read somewhere that the 3930 is just about as fast and I would likely not see much if any difference.

I am retired now and have part-time job to help pay the bills including my new PC gaming hobby. I am indeed fortunate in that regard. I have been quite frugal over the years and saved enough to ensure my spouse and I can survive on our pensions and savings. As one guy on one of the iRacing/Sim-racing forums said, he has no other hobbies or major expenses other than his gaming PC and rig. I am similar to him in some ways with no boats, cottages, season tickets to sports, big fancy cars, multiple vehicles, sea-dos or ski-dos. I do plan to travel a bit though. The new gaming PC and Gamepod GT2 EVO racing rig should be fun to use.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old February 3, 2012, 07:11 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 30
Default

damn...i wish i have that kind of budget to build new rig.......that will surely put a big smile on my face for three years.
tell us what you feel about your new system after you finish build it.
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old February 3, 2012, 07:22 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 8
Default Pulling the trigger

I plan to pull the trigger soon and will let you know how it turns out. I have a few loose ends to decide on and I hope the retailers have the items in hand which they do not seem to at this time. It seems that the HD7970s are in scarce supply at the moment. I wanted to get the ASUS MOBO and ASUS graphics cards to keep the items within the same manufacturer to minimize any incompatibilities. This will be my first build so i have some nervousness about it. But I have seen quite a few videos including how to apply the thermal paste to the CPU when installing the CPU cooler. I will just take my time when doing it to ensure I do it right. :)
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old February 3, 2012, 07:27 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 30
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DougOtt View Post
I plan to pull the trigger soon and will let you know how it turns out. I have a few loose ends to decide on and I hope the retailers have the items in hand which they do not seem to at this time. It seems that the HD7970s are in scarce supply at the moment. I wanted to get the ASUS MOBO and ASUS graphics cards to keep the items within the same manufacturer to minimize any incompatibilities. This will be my first build so i have some nervousness about it. But I have seen quite a few videos including how to apply the thermal paste to the CPU when installing the CPU cooler. I will just take my time when doing it to ensure I do it right. :)
yeah man..take it slow dont rush thing..everything will be just fine and great...good luck!!
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old February 5, 2012, 10:54 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 8
Default Applying Thermal Paste with the H100 Cooler?

Hi Nasfara.

I shall definitly take my time as I usually screw up if i don't! And sometimes even if I do! :)

It's funny; I spent so much time researching how to apply thermal paste to the CPU and found the following great info including various methods of how to apply the thermal paste:

http://benchmarkreviews.com/index.ph...=150&Itemid=62

Then I found out that the Corsair H100 has thermal paste on it already in the following article:

Blog - Installing the Hydro Series H100 Extreme Performance Liquid CPU Cooler In the Obsidian 800D

Problem solved! LOL.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[WTT] *TRADED* My WaterCooled Gaming Rig ( LOT OF FREEBIES ) For your Gaming Laptop bautisj Buy/Sell & Trade 10 October 31, 2010 04:40 PM