Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > New Builds

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old January 19, 2012, 12:14 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 1,577
Default

Get a 550 W PSU and try to get a 560 at least. You'll be overkilling everything else if you pair a 550 with all that nice hardware, and you're going to need some juice to run a big screen like that.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old January 19, 2012, 12:28 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 30
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by LarkStarr View Post
Get a 550 W PSU and try to get a 560 at least. You'll be overkilling everything else if you pair a 550 with all that nice hardware, and you're going to need some juice to run a big screen like that.
if i use 650w or 600w psu.do i need to change to 800w psu when i go for sli or xfire?
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old January 19, 2012, 12:46 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 1,577
Default

depends on what you're pairing up with. if you're pairing two 560's then I'd say yes, at least 750-800W, but if you're pairing two 550's, then 650W would probably do.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old January 19, 2012, 04:58 PM
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 85
Default

Quote:
CORSAIR CMZ8GX3M2A1600C9 (4GB 1600MHz x 2) - Vengeance Dual
Id swap this out for ECC ram, yes its supported that's one of the nice things about the AMD 8 core, if someone wanted it for a scientific computer,workstation class computer it can do it seeing as it can use ECC ram,that and the cpu for what it is for only $200 is a bargain.

And all the software for a scientific computer,workstation class computer with piles of cpu cores {and ram} is made from the ground up for the past 40 years for symmetric multiprocessing computing as well at times for Non-uniform memory access computing
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old January 20, 2012, 11:34 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 30
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jumpload View Post
Id swap this out for ECC ram, yes its supported that's one of the nice things about the AMD 8 core, if someone wanted it for a scientific computer,workstation class computer it can do it seeing as it can use ECC ram,that and the cpu for what it is for only $200 is a bargain.

And all the software for a scientific computer,workstation class computer with piles of cpu cores {and ram} is made from the ground up for the past 40 years for symmetric multiprocessing computing as well at times for Non-uniform memory access computing
wow!!!that something i dont know.good info.
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old January 21, 2012, 06:46 PM
Nexxsys's Avatar
Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 7

My System Specs

Default

I would go with an AMD 6950 2 GB video card. Equal price or better price than the 560Ti, and with a 32 inch monitor I am guess high resolutions on games so the 2 GB would give you more than the 560.

XFX 750 is also good (Semi Modular) and has been at a good price over the past few months.

Just my thoughts.
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old January 21, 2012, 07:45 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,604
Default

2 560ti can be ran off a 650w psu very easily with a lot of room to spare.
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old January 26, 2012, 05:56 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 30
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nexxsys View Post
I would go with an AMD 6950 2 GB video card. Equal price or better price than the 560Ti, and with a 32 inch monitor I am guess high resolutions on games so the 2 GB would give you more than the 560.

XFX 750 is also good (Semi Modular) and has been at a good price over the past few months.

Just my thoughts.
i been confuse actually between AMD gpu and nvidia GPU,its seem both of them have a little margin of pro n con.i will be running this rig like 24/7.is this will taking a tol for a long term?
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old January 26, 2012, 05:57 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 30
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by enaberif View Post
2 560ti can be ran off a 650w psu very easily with a lot of room to spare.
are you about that bro?soory for noob question.
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old January 26, 2012, 07:00 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,604
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nasfara View Post
are you about that bro?soory for noob question.
yup built a few running thar
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[WTT] *TRADED* My WaterCooled Gaming Rig ( LOT OF FREEBIES ) For your Gaming Laptop bautisj Buy/Sell & Trade 10 October 31, 2010 04:40 PM