Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > New Builds

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old January 15, 2012, 02:56 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 60

My System Specs

Default

Max memory limits for 64-bit Windows 7 | ZDNet

This suggests that Windows 7 Home Premium will not recognize more than 16 GB or RAM.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old January 16, 2012, 06:11 PM
MARSTG's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Montreal
Posts: 3,880

My System Specs

Default

yes, but why would you run anything else besides the Ultimate? even at 16 GB is pretty decent.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old January 16, 2012, 07:27 PM
Bond007's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Down under
Posts: 4,451

My System Specs

Default

IMO I think you are overkilling your system just for the sake of it. If money is no problem for you, then by all means go for it. Given what you have said I think you should go with a Z68 based MOB and a 2500/2600 CPU with 8-16gb ram. A nice 750w Seasonic/Corsair/XFX power supply, reuse your HDD for storage and grab a 128Gb Crucial SSD for windows and your favorite stuff. Reuse your case and grab whatever graphics card you want (gtx 570/gtx 580/ hd 6970/hd 7970/etc).
__________________
Desktop: Arc Midi R2, Z77-D3H, 3570K 1.09v/4.1ghz with Zalman Optima Cooler, Corsair Vengeance 2x4gb@1866mhz, XFX R9 280X DD, Bitfenix Fury 750w, WD Black 1TB, Intel 530 120GB
Away from home light Gamer: Acer Aspire 15.6", A8-3500m undervolt and OC to 2Ghz, 2x4gb Corsair Vengeance, Crucial M500 240gb
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old January 16, 2012, 10:09 PM
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 85
Default

Agreed . i could build better for like $300 Canada if not less,sadly the OP doesn't like tweaking hardware so that's kind of a problem.

off topic:
btw i was looking up benchmarks on the bf3 topic seeing as the OP only plays two games that would use a quad core though i know its all going to be quad anyways given time software wise but none less check this out
Battlefield 3 GPU & CPU Performance > CPU Scaling and Performance - TechSpot Reviews

bf3 is 100% video card dependent as well i read in a different post at one point that buddy was running bf3 off a d3d9 only in hardware video card O_o ? hello
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old January 16, 2012, 11:38 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 3
Default

Not a bad build, let me know how it plays out.
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old January 17, 2012, 06:33 AM
Bond007's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Down under
Posts: 4,451

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jumpload View Post
Agreed . i could build better for like $300 Canada if not less,sadly the OP doesn't like tweaking hardware so that's kind of a problem.

off topic:
btw i was looking up benchmarks on the bf3 topic seeing as the OP only plays two games that would use a quad core though i know its all going to be quad anyways given time software wise but none less check this out
Battlefield 3 GPU & CPU Performance > CPU Scaling and Performance - TechSpot Reviews

bf3 is 100% video card dependent as well i read in a different post at one point that buddy was running bf3 off a d3d9 only in hardware video card O_o ? hello
NOTE: Its 100% video card dependent on single player as in 99% of reviews. When you end up online with multiplayer and 64 players you CPU becomes much more important. I speak from experience as my computer becomes CPU limited in BF3 when I play multiplayer.
__________________
Desktop: Arc Midi R2, Z77-D3H, 3570K 1.09v/4.1ghz with Zalman Optima Cooler, Corsair Vengeance 2x4gb@1866mhz, XFX R9 280X DD, Bitfenix Fury 750w, WD Black 1TB, Intel 530 120GB
Away from home light Gamer: Acer Aspire 15.6", A8-3500m undervolt and OC to 2Ghz, 2x4gb Corsair Vengeance, Crucial M500 240gb
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old January 18, 2012, 02:19 PM
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 85
Default

Rgr that on the bf3 topic ;)
Ill have to read up on it but theirs a lot of fud out their on the game topic as to how many cores game "X" uses as well if you don't have a quality sound card sound should be disabled in testing seeing as Integrated sound is 95% software ~ cpu vampire.

Battlefield 2 bad company was a three ring circus on all most every forum on the cpu topic and half the people didn't have a clue as to how to bench for cpu use.

And i should have said $500 not $300 before.
Though my self i cheat seeing as im use to tweaking hardware as well as recycling older hardware to save a buck and i know how to optimize hardware and software like a mad wizard.

Quote:
CPU: Intel Core i7 3930 (599$ Newegg.ca) (Corsair H70 Liquid Cooler 91.99$, newegg.ca)
My self id say i5 2500k~i6 2600k + full size water cooling kit for the same price,over all imho its the better setup.
What can i say its like the i5 2500k~i7 2600k bandwagon freak show in hardware forums of late on this topic.
As for overclocking, Just don't listen to the newbie overclockers, two~three years down the road everything in their case is wasted. If you do it right it never brakes.
Only newbie overclockers brake things.

If hardware tweaking really isn't your thing, imho take the system to a store and let a professional do the job for you,tell them only to teak the cpu speed and a light overclock meaning 4600mgz, 1.3v max.
All other settings stay at defalt!
they wont change you much,i know i wouldn't. leave everything at stock speed besides that and for the love of god turn off auto overclock anything in the bios.
That hole topic needs to crawl back under the rock were it came from,though id keep the cpu power down option alive like on a laptop were the cpu drops to 50% of normal Mhz ~ voltage when its at rest.

----------------------
Swiftech H20-220 Ultima XT Water Cooling Kit
$300

Computer Water Cooling Kits at Xoxide.com - Liquid Cooling Systems
i could do better but as far as a kit gos but you know,don't feel like it atm.
read decent reviews on that water block.

1.3v core : 150 TDP : ambient room temp 25c {ball park numbers}
Stock tdp at stock setting on a i7 2600k for the record is 100,ill let you do the math ;)
----------------------
Quote:
Motherboard: Intel BOXDX79SI LGA 2011 Motherboard (279.99$, newegg.ca)
ASRock Fatal1ty P67 Performance LGA 1155 Intel P67 SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 ATX Intel Motherboard
$120 after rebate if not its like a $160 daller mobo at most stores or something like that.

Newegg.com - ASRock Fatal1ty P67 Performance LGA 1155 Intel P67 SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 ATX Intel
Motherboard

Note: this mobo uses UEFI GUI for the bios, imho like its bother auto-overclock it needs to crawl back under a rock ,its freaking useless and glitchy.
It be nice if asrock offered people the normal gui setup as well as a download you know for computer users that know what their doing,if not maybe someone could do a bios mod,looking for it atm.
----------------------
Quote:
RAM: G.SKILL Ripjaw 32GB (8x4GB) (183.99 GB)
Overkill ram quantity imho.
And whats with everyone buying Ripjaws O_o 16 gigs should do just fine. my self i could live with 8
ps use 2 dims not 4, 4 is slower

Newegg.com - G.SKILL Sniper Low Voltage Series 8GB (2 x 4GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800) Desktop Memory Model F3-12800CL9D-8GBSR2

9-9-9-24 ,1.25v ,1600mgz, ddr3 $50
----------------------
Quote:
Videocard: ATI 4870 - I'd love to have some upgrade suggestions, if possible.
whats with the old school video card ? lol join the bandwagon just get a 560ti like everyone if not a ATI hd 6850or something.
----------------------
Hard Drive(s): Same for now
Case: Same
----------------------
Quote:
Power Supply: Rosewill HIVE-750 750W (99.99 on sale, newegg.ca)
Old psu is a what ? if its decent and not that old id reuse it my self. 600watts is np for this setup
----------------------
OS: Windows 7 Home Premium (109.99, newegg.)
Tnx god, id shoot my self if i had to use vista, you know in some games its like 30% slower then winxp and its a memory pig. thats probly fixed now but anyways you know what im saying, xp vs win7 vs vista~ vista is the slowest.

joke video of the day
VISTA SUCKS | BLIMPTV.NET on Blip

----------------------
My self i would all so add in a old a old school lan card and a top of the line sound blaster X-fi if you have the cash.
Newegg.com - Creative 30SB088200000 7.1 Channels 24-bit 24 bit 96 kHz ADC - Play 24 bit 96 kHz 7.1 Channel DAC - Play 24 bit 192 kHz Stereo DAC - Play 24 bit 96 kHz Recording PCI Express x1 Interface SoundBlaster X-Fi Titan
sorry im kind of a sound blaster fan boy and yes i know their drivers are crap, if not this then get whatever works for you but onbord sound is garbage that much im shore of.
Some of the old school lan cards only use 3% cpu use on a cpu that's like a p3 500mgz {gamer lan card}
In ms dos 6.22 with no himem.sys~emm368.exe
----------------------
3Com 3CR990-TX-97
3Com 3CSOHO100-TX
mobo:Asus P3B-F
cpu:
Pentium III 600mhz Coppermine Slot 1
OS: win98se


top that Bigfoot Networks Killer NIC
sorce
We Take The Lid Off NICs From 3Com, Intel And SMC - THG.RU



Ps i did this quickly, if i were doing it for my self id spend days at it.

Quote:
This suggests that Windows 7 Home Premium will not recognize more than 16 GB or RAM.
Max limit for winxp 64bit 128gigs ^^ i know too old a os but i just had to say something

Last edited by jumpload; January 19, 2012 at 08:20 AM. Reason: content update,cleaned up post
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
NEW BUILD vs. UPGRADE HOTDOGS New Builds 15 November 30, 2011 10:27 AM
upgrade/new build timidestemu New Builds 9 January 28, 2011 08:29 AM
Upgrade for my gaming build (sub 400$) spikexp New Builds 6 December 14, 2010 02:20 AM
Upgrade.... or new build? belinik New Builds 7 September 9, 2010 05:33 AM
Newest Build/Upgrade Wall86 New Builds 3 July 20, 2009 12:03 PM