Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > New Builds

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old January 1, 2012, 09:38 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: oromocto nb
Posts: 4

My System Specs

Default Upgrading my video card or not

I would like to run 3 monitors for gaming. I live in canada and I like performance but I do not overclock yet. Cost is not the most important factor - the most important thing is what will make sense, new vs old. I have a good base to do this. I have a BFG 295 gtx and it has 2 DVI ports and I need 3 so my problem is do I find another 295 gtx and SLI them, or is there a big enough difference in newer cards that already have 3 DVI ports to go with one of them. What do you think? If a new card is the way to go, can you give me some advice on what card I should go with.
I have a i7 920 processor/EVGA x58 MB/6 gig of memory/and BFG 295 gtx.
Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old January 1, 2012, 09:52 AM
Soullessone21's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Calgary AB
Posts: 1,322

My System Specs

Default

my Honest opinion would be to get a ASUS CUII 6970 and then your set for all 3 if money is no option go with a 6990 you wont regret it. But the Asus ENGTX590/3DIS/3GD5 is a great option as well but I know very little about Nvidia as I am a total AMD fanboy

Hell I might even sell my less then 2 month old 6970 for cheap as I am prepping for the new 7970 series.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old January 1, 2012, 02:37 PM
bigFOIG's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Vancouver, B.C.
Posts: 426

My System Specs

Default

Be careful with using AMD Eyefinity. I had a 3 monitor setup with a 6950 and there are so many driver problems... I would say you should get 2 GTX 560 Ti's in SLI.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old January 1, 2012, 03:56 PM
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: mississauga
Posts: 107
Default

you can wait for 7xxx series from AMD .
__________________
HEAT
Hardware Canucks
Overclock.net
RFD
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old January 1, 2012, 04:12 PM
techman95's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: TEXAS
Posts: 322

My System Specs

Default

wait till the 9th when the 7xxx series hits and you can get a 7970 and rape face
__________________
Amd....definitely a blond female.....not much on the cpu side, but always strutting about showing off her gpus
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old January 1, 2012, 05:12 PM
Allstar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 724
Default

How about a Galaxy 580 MDT?

GALAXY LAUNCHES THE GTX 580 MDT
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old January 2, 2012, 07:20 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: oromocto nb
Posts: 4

My System Specs

Default

Thanks for all the info I am going to wait a bit longer and get a one of the new nvidia cards coming out soon.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old January 2, 2012, 07:59 AM
PerryC's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Burton, NB
Posts: 737

My System Specs

Default

I got to see how you are going to talk 9'er domestic into this
__________________
The oath to serve your country did not include a contract for normal luxury, and comforts enjoyed within our society. On the contrary it implies hardships, loyalty and devotion to duty, regardless of rank
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old January 2, 2012, 09:55 PM
Dzzope's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Irishman in Kiev, wOOoo, I'm an alien...
Posts: 2,825

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by uppercut View Post
Thanks for all the info I am going to wait a bit longer and get a one of the new nvidia cards coming out soon.
New nvidia are due around about May. new Radions (7970) are being released on the 9th.

While it rips the head off anything else out at the moment (bar dual gpu cards) it's not cheap.

Your best option is either to go for a large single Radion or a pair of nvidia's.


What resolution are you running? and what are you planning to run on the 3 screens? (are you looking for a game across the 3 or just desktop?)

if your looking to game across the 3 screens you will need something with quite a bit of power. If your running monitors that have a higher resolution you will need something with huge amounts of power.

It all depends on 3 things.. brand preference, resolution and use. (also how soon you want it)
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Where's my vid card stand vs upgrading? biff Video Cards 13 January 21, 2011 09:58 AM
Upgrading from 4850 512 mb Card 2di4u Video Cards 17 September 11, 2010 08:14 AM
No video output after upgrading HDD mjin12 Troubleshooting 9 March 4, 2010 04:33 PM
WTB: Video Card/Sound Card/Hard drive - Look here if u gotz some ! Flintblade Buy/Sell & Trade 4 December 4, 2008 09:27 PM
Upgrading issues, what vid card, cpu?! Andy New Builds 10 September 24, 2008 11:43 PM