Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > New Builds

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old December 26, 2011, 03:38 PM
Rookie

Default Please sanity check my gaming PC parts list

Hey, this is my first attempt at configuring a gaming computer. My first assumption is that building is cheaper and/or better value than buying prebuilt, for a given CPU/GPU/motherboard combo - if I'm wrong, please tell me so & ignore the rest of this post!

I wanted something reasonably powerful, that will give good gaming performance (i.e. most bells and whistles, high resolution, 24+ FPS) for at least 3 or 4 years.

I tend to enjoy RPG, flight-sim, auto racing and adventure-style games, e.g. Fallout 3, Bioshock, Paradise City (is that on PC? played it XBox 360), Mass Effect, Half-Life 2, Elder Scrolls Oblivion, etc. Story matters more than blood and bullets to me :)

The system details follow, but I have a few questions up front:

1. Is it worth paying NCIX $50 to build and test the system, or could I do it myself (I am fairly handy, I've installed a few hard drives, memory modules, etc. but never done something on this scale). I'm not afraid to try building my own, in fact I'd find it an enjoyable challenge, but I'm nervous about making expensive mistakes.

2. I started with the Intel Core i5 Gaming System option on ncix.com's PC Builder page, then modified it following online recommendations, particularly the link in basic answer #6 below, so my parts list is entirely from NCIX. Should I buy everything from NCIX, or now that I have a basic list, hunt around for the items on discount?

3. Given my gaming style, am I buying too much PC? What could I economize?

4. I've added an SSD + Z68 chipset to take advantage of SSD caching - is this overkill, or future-proofing?

5. How well will this system "age"? IOW, can I easily upgrade the CPU, GPU, mobo, etc. as games inevitably demand more power?

First, here's my answers to the basic questions: