Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > New Builds

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old December 23, 2011, 11:55 AM
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Montreal, QC
Posts: 199

My System Specs

Default Server build

Hi all,

I'm starting a new server build and need some advice. Here's the list of parts:

- Asus KGPE-D16 (Found. Thanks Alpine!)
- 2 Opteron 6128 (Found. Thanks Alpine!)
- 2 Noctua NH-U9D0 A3 (Found. Thanks Alpine!)
- 32 GB RAM (not found yet, suggestions?)
- Dell PERC 5i (Found)
- OCZ Vertex 2 60GB Boot drive (Found)
- 4x 1TB Seagate 7200 RPM (Found)
- Chassis (not found, suggestions?)
- Antec TruePower Quattro 850 (Found)

Two things I need input on (plus the RAM):

1) Server chassis: Need a silent pedestal chassis that can accomodate up to 9 drives. Hotswap capabilities would be ideal. I was looking at the following with its hotswap cages: Newegg.ca - CHENBRO SR10769-CO 1.0mm SECC Pedestal High-End Server/Workstation Chassis 3 External 5.25" Drive Bays
2) Is the Antec TruePower Quattro 850 OK if I use an EPS adapter (It has only one) or should I get a new PSU?

Main uses will be for virtualization and folding.

Thanks all
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old December 23, 2011, 12:05 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Québec, Canada
Posts: 150

My System Specs

Default

I don't know how adequate the quattro is, I have one in my rig right now and I need to change it (again) under warranty. I only want to point out that they are discontinued right now. The replacement Antec will give me is a High Current Pro.
__________________
Mayoo

Gameplay > Graphics ... oh wait

Food > Gameplay > Graphics > Movies > Sleep > Work
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old December 23, 2011, 12:13 PM
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Montreal, QC
Posts: 199

My System Specs

Default

That's the model I'm looking at if the Quattro isn't up for it.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old December 25, 2011, 06:12 AM
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Montreal, QC
Posts: 199

My System Specs

Default

I know that SSI EEB boards and EATX are same size but can I put an SSI EEB board in an EATX case while it is held firmly (do screw holes line up good?). Also, I need that case to be as silent as possible.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old December 25, 2011, 07:49 AM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,600

My System Specs

Default

If I remember well, 2 stand-offs don't line up.
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old December 25, 2011, 11:46 AM
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Montreal, QC
Posts: 199

My System Specs

Default

I think I'll be going with a Xigmatek Elysium. It's big, lots of cooling oand lot of room for hard drives.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old December 29, 2011, 08:48 PM
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Montreal, QC
Posts: 199

My System Specs

Default

Quick update: I finally ordered a Xigmatek Elysium and 8x4 GB Corsair Ram. I'll post some pics soon to share with y'all.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old December 30, 2011, 07:09 PM
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Montreal, QC
Posts: 199

My System Specs

Default

Got the Elysium, RAM and an Intel 80 GB SSD today. Damn the Elysium is big. Weird thing is that the manual states that it's SSI CEB/EEB compatible but this is not mentioned on their web site.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old January 3, 2012, 04:55 AM
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Montreal, QC
Posts: 199

My System Specs

Default

One question I have regarding the Quattro 850W: Since it has only one EPS connector and the KGPE-D16 requires two, I got an EPS splitter but that got me thinking about how the 12V rails are setup on the Quattro.

After a bit of searching, I found that the EPS runs off a single rail which can support a max load of 25A. Will it be OK running like that or should I get a different EPS adapter?

Thanks for the help
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old January 4, 2012, 06:49 PM
Alpine's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Boucherville / South shore of MTL
Posts: 842

My System Specs

Default

Have fun with the new build Doup93..
__________________
• ► ›Main system
• ► › |I7 3930K|Asus P9X79 WS|Evga GTX 690 Signature|Samsung 256G Pro|Corsair H100|Dominator Platinium 16GB 2133Mhz|
Corsair AX1200|Corsair 540 AIR|Corsair SP2500|Corsair Vengeance 2000|
• ► ›Server system
• ► › |I7 3820|Asus P9X79|12G G.Skill 1600Mhz|Noctua NH-D14|Corsair Force 3 120GB|LSI megaRAID 9261 8|5X 3TB|Corsair AX650|Fractal Design Arc Midi|
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Server build moocow New Builds 5 September 8, 2011 01:35 AM
server build help freaked New Builds 0 August 3, 2011 12:29 PM
HTPC/Server Build Arinoth New Builds 23 July 2, 2010 08:15 AM
Do I need to build a Nas server or can I do this instead Shadowmeph HTPC Systems & Software 14 October 23, 2009 11:59 AM
server build Scratch CPU's and Motherboards 0 March 5, 2008 11:44 PM