Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > New Builds

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old December 17, 2011, 11:38 AM
Shadowmeph's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 3,367

My System Specs

Default Dam I think my KGPE board is fried

Well I have spent the past2 hrs trying to figure out what is going on with my Motherboard. I only have I cpu installed becasue I only have a single cpu cooler the motherboards Green Light comes on but that is it, this board isn't installed inside any case it is just sitting ontop of a box. I switched out the cpu with my other cpu thinking that this may be the problem, turn on the power, I hear the PSU click but the cpu fans don't turn on.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old December 17, 2011, 11:42 AM
KaptCrunch's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Ontario
Posts: 2,946
Default

what bios version ? current is

KGPE-D16 formal released BIOS version 2005
1. Add PCIE slot option ROM Enable/Disable function.
2. Update AGESA code version to support AMD Opteron 6200 series(Interlagos).
3. Fix CPU speed show incorrect in BIOS Setup and POST.
4. Revise CPU socket 0~1 to CPU socket 1~2 in BIOS Setup.

also fan jumpers
Attached Images
 

Last edited by KaptCrunch; December 17, 2011 at 11:48 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old December 17, 2011, 11:46 AM
Shadowmeph's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 3,367

My System Specs

Default

Doh , ok I figured it out , I used a pcie adapter the goes from 6-8 pins was wrond I actually looked at the wiring of the 8 pin and it was different, I think that I was lucky in that I didn't fry my board, ok now I will hook up other things and go from there.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old December 17, 2011, 11:52 AM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,643

My System Specs

Default

Double-check all connectors, and use a single ram stick. Make sure it is in the correct slot.
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old December 17, 2011, 12:00 PM
KaptCrunch's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Ontario
Posts: 2,946
Default

man i hate that pci-e 8 and motherboard 8 arn't idiot proof for the MB power can slide in pci-e

but pci-e won't fit MB power 8 best check polarity
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old December 17, 2011, 12:04 PM
Soullessone21's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Calgary AB
Posts: 1,322

My System Specs

Default

do you have a second cooler on order? I have 3 at work only need two if you dont have the last Noctua hit me up.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old December 17, 2011, 05:39 PM
Shadowmeph's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 3,367

My System Specs

Default

ok after my carless mistake earlier I finally got it up and running without any hitches . there is a slight Whine coming from around the onboard VGA or the CPU plugin, it is ever so slight I read somewhere that this was normal if the cpu fan being used was 3 pin but I am not sure if that if true or not.
I fired up the folding part but not sure what is going on but that is a post for the folding forum area lol
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old December 18, 2011, 08:01 AM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,643

My System Specs

Default

Make sure you slap a fan nearby the NB heatsink. It gets hot with folding...
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
will I have problems Running one CPU on ASUS KGPE-D16 Shadowmeph New Builds 5 December 16, 2011 09:04 PM
CPU is fried?? DrJohnFever CPU's and Motherboards 2 January 16, 2011 03:46 PM
ASUS Releases KGPE-D16 Socket G34 Motherboard for 12-core AMD Opteron Processors FiXT Press Releases & Tech News 3 April 7, 2010 01:51 PM
Fried GPU? Ataxin Troubleshooting 9 November 16, 2009 12:04 PM
Reboot = Fried Ram Evilyeti RAM 2 November 17, 2008 05:58 AM