Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > New Builds

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old December 15, 2011, 09:04 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Bradford, Ontario
Posts: 7

My System Specs

Question New PC input

Hey,

Need some input. I will be using this for high end gaming and have put together based on input from friends and youtube vids and reviews :D. So I just want to know if this will have any issues running for example BF3 full and any game that is out or coming out in the next little while. I will be a PC convert if it does lol. What I have now is what I would like to spend. If there is an upgrade for a bit more I would consider. If it is an upgrade to ensure performance I would also raise my budget.

Changed - GIGABYTE GA-Z68X-UD3H-B3 Intel Z68 Motherboard
Changed - 8GB
Cooler Master RS700-AMBAD3 700W Modular
Cooler Masrer RC-430-KWN1 Mid Tower ATX Case
EVGA GTX 580 supposedly its OC`d
Changed - i5 2500k
Changed - WD Black 7200 500GB HDD
Changed - 30GB SSD

If missed anything let me know I can add it in. In total this comes to roughly 1600-1700 minus shipping so it would be nice to make sure everything will work well with each other. Anyway thanks in advanced.

Kologa

Last edited by kologa; December 16, 2011 at 10:11 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old December 15, 2011, 09:08 PM
gingerbee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Orillia, Ontario
Posts: 6,828

My System Specs

Default

well if your not running an ssd for a boot drive you will want to get a faster hdd cause 5900 is more of a power saving data drive
__________________
Fav quote "One should strive to achieve; not sit in bitter regret." Ronin Harris
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old December 15, 2011, 09:19 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Bradford, Ontario
Posts: 7

My System Specs

Default

I have read about the SSD drives. Now would it be cheaper and performance driven to go with a SSD/HDD combo or to go with a faster HDD?

Or even would it be a big deal to run it as is and upgrade with an SSD a month or so after the computer gets put together?
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old December 15, 2011, 10:30 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: laval Qc
Posts: 1,072
Default

buyin a 960 over a 2500k makes no sense
__________________
maximus IV extreme @ 5.1 1.41v

evga e760 +920 4.8 water5.0+ on phase linx stable
gtx285 tri-sli
dfi ut-p35 lt
e8600@4.6 1.38v
too much ram
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old December 15, 2011, 11:19 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Australia
Posts: 25

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by zsamz_ View Post
buyin a 960 over a 2500k makes no sense
i agree personaly i would go with the 2500k,the 2500k is about $100 cheeaper they are both quadcore the 960 has 2Mb cache more and its a bit slower aswell. i wold also get a 60Gb ssd as a boot drive and a smaller hdd as you could always buy a second hdd if needed later on.

For any to give ou someproper advice we need to know yor budget and if you are planing to overclock
what your using the pc for ie gaming, video editiing etc

you will also need an dvd/cd drive or are yousing an existing one
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old December 16, 2011, 03:35 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Bradford, Ontario
Posts: 7

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by oOoSMOKEoOo View Post
i agree personaly i would go with the 2500k,the 2500k is about $100 cheeaper they are both quadcore the 960 has 2Mb cache more and its a bit slower aswell. i wold also get a 60Gb ssd as a boot drive and a smaller hdd as you could always buy a second hdd if needed later on.

For any to give ou someproper advice we need to know yor budget and if you are planing to overclock
what your using the pc for ie gaming, video editiing etc

you will also need an dvd/cd drive or are yousing an existing one
Most of the stuff you asked for I included in the OP. It will be a high end gaming pc. Where it is is, is ideal for my budget. Maybe 100-300 difference is fine. As for overclocking at this time no but in the future when I have money for a proper heatsink and asuch yes. I am also aware of the dvd/cd drive I left it out because most all I my games are bought of systems like steam. Just need a cheap one for installing the OS.

I havent read much on the 2 500k and 2600k processors they are 1155 correct? So the same performance if not better then the 960?

Last edited by kologa; December 16, 2011 at 03:43 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old December 16, 2011, 05:20 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Québec, Canada
Posts: 152

My System Specs

Default

Isn't the 960 being discontinued soon by Intel? You will cry hard in the future if you need to upgrade with this build; go >= P67.
__________________
Mayoo

Gameplay > Graphics ... oh wait

Food > Gameplay > Graphics > Movies > Sleep > Work
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old December 16, 2011, 05:26 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 31

My System Specs

Default

Pardon me, if I say something crazy. Sorta hungover.

DO NOT. Use the 1366 socket from Intel. It is a dead socket. There's no future upgrades that will really be out.

Go socket 1155 or 2011. There's tons of nice products. If you really want to play now, you can purchase a i5 2500k for cheap and it runs every game flawlessly or if you more of a enthusiast and want HT then you can go farther to a 2600k or 2700k. And, if it interests you.. Later on you'll have the ability to buy the ivy bridge cpus that will be released.

But please don't go 1366 because it's a dead socket.

The NEW GEN3 Z68 mobos coming out for the 1155 socket will probably interest you.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old December 16, 2011, 02:17 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Bradford, Ontario
Posts: 7

My System Specs

Default

Ok so I will change to the 2500k by the sounds of it based on your guys opinions and the awesome reviews. I am just bad at assuming lower numbers mean worse lol. So other then that everything else looks solid except i will have to change the ram aswell.

So would say a 60GB SSD drive be plenty for a boot drive? I will probably lower my HDD to a 500GB higher RPM 7200 I think it was. Also as mentioned i can always add more.

Thanks for all the helps any more opinions please mention them :D

Edit: So I am looking at something like this then?

GIGABYTE GA-Z68X-UD3H-B3 Intel Z68 Motherboard - ATX, Socket H2 (LGA 1155), Intel Z68 Chipset, 2133MHz DDR3, SATA 6.0 Gb/s, RAID, 7.1-CH Audio, Gigabit LAN, SuperSpeed USB 3.0, CrossFireX/SLI Ready

Would the memory I have listed still be good enough or?

Last edited by kologa; December 16, 2011 at 02:27 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old December 16, 2011, 03:07 PM
SugarJ's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Langley, BC
Posts: 6,090

My System Specs

Default

You'll need to pick different memory, LGA1155 is dual channel and not triple channel. You can find some real cheap 8 GB kits like this Kingston HyperX on sale for $36. Kingston HyperX KHX1600C9D3K2/8GX 8GB 2X4GB DDR3-1600 XMP Dual Channel Memory Kit - Kingston - KHX1600C9D3K2/8GX
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Need input :) Cornholio New Builds 6 May 22, 2011 07:15 AM
Looking for some input dragoonxx Storage 0 November 21, 2010 11:43 PM
i7 input doggggboy New Builds 50 February 12, 2010 09:44 AM
Input Lag Cranky Gaming 4 July 26, 2009 01:14 PM
need input flybye Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 4 September 11, 2007 02:34 PM