Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > New Builds

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old December 16, 2011, 03:39 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Bradford, Ontario
Posts: 7

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SugarJ View Post
You'll need to pick different memory, LGA1155 is dual channel and not triple channel. You can find some real cheap 8 GB kits like this Kingston HyperX on sale for $36. Kingston HyperX KHX1600C9D3K2/8GX 8GB 2X4GB DDR3-1600 XMP Dual Channel Memory Kit - Kingston - KHX1600C9D3K2/8GX

I am not concerned so much about it being real cheap but rather the performance. Will that RAM hold up for the price because if so then thats amazing value.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old December 16, 2011, 09:15 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Montreal
Posts: 1,458

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kologa View Post
So would say a 60GB SSD drive be plenty for a boot drive? I will probably lower my HDD to a 500GB higher RPM 7200 I think it was.
I have a 30GB SSD as boot drive under Windows 7 x64. Intermediary storage is a screaming fast Samsung F4@320GB on 7200RPM. Slow large drives on the e-sata dual station as storage.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old December 16, 2011, 09:47 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Bradford, Ontario
Posts: 7

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MARSTG View Post
I have a 30GB SSD as boot drive under Windows 7 x64. Intermediary storage is a screaming fast Samsung F4@320GB on 7200RPM. Slow large drives on the e-sata dual station as storage.
Ok so I don't even need a 60GB eh? 30GB SSD would do? Also for my main HDD I was looking at:
Western Digital WD5000AAKX Caviar Blue Hard Drive - 500GB, 3.5", SATA 6Gbps, 7200RPM
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old December 16, 2011, 09:51 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Montreal
Posts: 1,458

My System Specs

Default

if you are asking me, ideal configuration would be SSD for boot and a raid 0 matrix as intermediary storage. The WD blues are kinda slow for my taste I would look at a Samsung or a Seagate 1TB, or put 2 of those WD in raid 0
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old December 16, 2011, 10:13 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Bradford, Ontario
Posts: 7

My System Specs

Default

Right now im just going for he getting me up and running with a quality gaming rig, I can upgrade once I finish building my first PC and learn more about the different options as you mentioned.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Need input :) Cornholio New Builds 6 May 22, 2011 07:15 AM
Looking for some input dragoonxx Storage 0 November 21, 2010 11:43 PM
i7 input doggggboy New Builds 50 February 12, 2010 09:44 AM
Input Lag Cranky Gaming 4 July 26, 2009 01:14 PM
need input flybye Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 4 September 11, 2007 02:34 PM