Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > New Builds

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old December 12, 2011, 03:37 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 21

My System Specs

Default Need help!

Today my computer components came. I started building around 3 hours ago, got everything set up only to find nothing turned on when I gave power.

I used an anti-static wrist strap(Not going to lie, I forgot to discharge once in a while) , hooked up my cpu to my mobo, put the fan on, put ram in slots 1 and 2. Plugged the 12v in that socket, and the really big head.

What is the problem? Is the power supply faulty? Is the motherboard DOA? I need help please!

Also this is my first build, really underestimated how hard it would be. :(
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old December 12, 2011, 03:38 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,605
Default

does the mobo hve a power button built on?
is the main switch on the back of the psu on?
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old December 12, 2011, 03:53 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 21

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by enaberif View Post
does the mobo hve a power button built on?
is the main switch on the back of the psu on?
Yes, the PSU is on. It is on the 'I' but the fans fail to spin and the power supply fails to even make a noise.

What do you mean power button?

The mobo is a gigabyte Z68AP-D3.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old December 12, 2011, 04:13 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,605
Default

make sure you have the case wires setup properly.

have you tried the reset switch?
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old December 12, 2011, 04:13 PM
Allstar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 718
Default

Double check your front panel connection. You just need power switch and reset switch for now.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old December 12, 2011, 04:17 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 21

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by enaberif View Post
make sure you have the case wires setup properly.

have you tried the reset switch?
It's not hooked up to the case at all.

It's on the box it came in, hooked up to the power supply which is hooked up to the wall plug.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old December 12, 2011, 04:20 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 21

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by moocow View Post
Double check your front panel connection. You just need power switch and reset switch for now.
Can you go a little into detail?

There are 2 cables attached to a black cable and little red/green/blue/orange white cables.

The 2 cables on the black one are called "Hd Audio" and "AC'97"
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old December 12, 2011, 04:31 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 21

My System Specs

Default

EDIT!

I found them!

Blue and Orange. Hooked them up in appropriate spots and the fan is now working! It's really quiet and is moving slow but I think I fixed it!

Thanks for the help guys!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old December 12, 2011, 04:33 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,605
Default

uhm if this isnt in a case how are you powering it up?

you either need the front panel connectors hooked up (see manual) or you need a screwdriver and jump the pw_swith pins on the board
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old December 12, 2011, 04:34 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Calgary
Posts: 1,386

My System Specs

Default

you need to short the power switch pins on the mobo headers with a flat head screw driver. The motherboard isn't going to turn on by simply turning on the power switch to PSU.

You can also use the case power button just plug it into the correct place and push the button.
__________________
__________________________________________________ __________
"Lesson's cost money... good ones costs lots" -Tony Beets (gold rush)
__________________________________________________ __________
Mah Rig now
Mah Rig before
My stuff for sale.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes