Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > New Builds

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old December 3, 2011, 06:47 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Irishman in Kiev, wOOoo, I'm an alien...
Posts: 2,545

My System Specs

Default

The black is wasted if you are running an SSD anyway.. Also they won't drop in price for ages yet.

The green would be fine just be sure you have enough of an SSD to handle all your games and programs.
IMO get the cheapest HDD that you can with enough room (500gb would be plenty if your not a hog and then add more later.) And use the savings for a larger SSD.

If you are thinking of caching..
OCZ Synapse SSD first impressions

Last edited by Dzzope; December 3, 2011 at 07:13 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old December 3, 2011, 10:20 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 11
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dzzope View Post
The black is wasted if you are running an SSD anyway.. Also they won't drop in price for ages yet.

The green would be fine just be sure you have enough of an SSD to handle all your games and programs.
IMO get the cheapest HDD that you can with enough room (500gb would be plenty if your not a hog and then add more later.) And use the savings for a larger SSD.

If you are thinking of caching..
OCZ Synapse SSD first impressions
Thanks! I went with the Corsair Force Series GT 60GB, but that was definitely insightful!

Another question that I have to ask is: what ram is compatible for overclocking with the P8Z68 V-Pro?

The mobo states here: 4 x DIMM, Max. 32GB, DDR3 2200(O.C.)/2133(O.C.)/1866(O.C.)/1600/1333/1066 MHz Non-ECC, Un-buffered Memory
and I'm unsure of what to make of it. Does this simply mean that only 1866/2133/2200 MHz can be overclocked? I don't really need it as a feature, but is 1600MHz good enough for my build?

Thanks again guys, you're all pretty awesome :D
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old December 3, 2011, 10:33 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 41
Default

It means that the motherboard won't run those ram speeds by default since intel states that they support 1066/1333 speeds by stock. To get to those speeds you'll have to adjust the ram speeds etc. by yourself in the bios. So if you bought ram that rates itself as ddr3 2200, when you plug it into the motherboard it will default to a stock speed of DDR3-1066/1333 and you will have to raise settings to get to the 2200mhz speed.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old December 3, 2011, 10:51 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 11
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kazenagi View Post
It means that the motherboard won't run those ram speeds by default since intel states that they support 1066/1333 speeds by stock. To get to those speeds you'll have to adjust the ram speeds etc. by yourself in the bios. So if you bought ram that rates itself as ddr3 2200, when you plug it into the motherboard it will default to a stock speed of DDR3-1066/1333 and you will have to raise settings to get to the 2200mhz speed.
Thank you very much! I'll be sticking to 1600 MHz :p
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old December 3, 2011, 11:21 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 41
Default

This is a good read on how different memory speeds affect performance in sandybridge AnandTech - Sandy Bridge Memory Scaling: Choosing the Best DDR3
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old December 3, 2011, 11:41 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 11
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kazenagi View Post
This is a good read on how different memory speeds affect performance in sandybridge AnandTech - Sandy Bridge Memory Scaling: Choosing the Best DDR3
This is exactly what I've been looking for, I can't thank you enough! :D
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What kind of cable ??? Dan Troubleshooting 8 April 29, 2010 01:45 PM
What kind of pump for.... Charloz24 Water Cooling 13 March 25, 2010 10:07 AM
how about a contest of some kind ruffus Water Cooling 93 December 14, 2009 06:45 PM
What kind of PPD should I be getting? Daygard HardwareCanucks F@H Team 2 April 29, 2009 07:06 PM
UPS - the good kind Dr_BenD_over Peripherals 8 December 17, 2008 07:05 PM