Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > New Builds

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old December 1, 2011, 12:22 AM
Dzzope's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Irishman in Kiev, wOOoo, I'm an alien...
Posts: 2,728

My System Specs

Default

Case is personal choice and i don't know that particular one.
I think it's expensive for your budget, and Really ugly (personal taste, whatever your happy with).

Mobo, z68 over p67, If you'll use the SSD caching, PCI-E 3.0 and integrated CPU graphics it's great, if not get the p67.
p67 is a great board if slightly older, allows you to clock well and is quite a bit cheaper.
There is a third option if your not going to oc at all (again chose a non k cpu) that won't allow you to oc and is very cheap but I believe in getting the good bits at good prices (p67 is very good for price and performance).

GPU, 6950 is torn a new one by a 570 or a 560ti 448 but is also slightly cheaper. it's about the same performance as a 560ti but with more ram than you'll ever need.
I would suggest the cheapest 5970/570/560ti448 you can get your hands on. as long as it is more than 1 GB you should be looking pretty good for gpu ram for a few years at 1920x1080

Last edited by Dzzope; December 1, 2011 at 02:35 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old December 1, 2011, 03:43 AM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 2,880

My System Specs

Default

Its all pretty good. I am not familiar with the case though. And the ram needs to be changed to a 2x4gb or 4x4gb kit...no point in 3 sticks of ram since its a dual channel memory MOB/CPU.
__________________
Desktop: Antec Three Hundred, Z77-D3H, 3570K undervolt @4.1ghz with Zalman Optima Cooler, Corsair Vengeance 2x4gb@1866mhz, MSI Cyclone GTX 460, Seasonic S12II 500W, WD Black 1TB, Intel 530 120GB
Away from home light Gamer: Acer Aspire 15.6", A8-3500m undervolt and OC to 2Ghz, 2x4gb Corsair Vengeance, Crucial M500 240gb
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old December 1, 2011, 02:59 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 18
Default

Thanks for picking up the mistake about the dual channel memory, I must have been really tired when choosing these parts.
Anywho, I was wondering if you could tell me the difference between the CMZ8GX3M2A1600C9 8GB (2x4GB) and the CMZ8GX3M2A1600C8 8GB (2X4GB) ? Is it just the latency and is it worth the extra 10 AUD?

Thanks Steve
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old December 3, 2011, 05:41 PM
Dzzope's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Irishman in Kiev, wOOoo, I'm an alien...
Posts: 2,728

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dzzope View Post
3x4GB?
Sandybridge don't have tri-channel ram. 2x4 GB should be plenty for your needs but if not you can get another 2x4 gb in the future for an easy and relatively cheap boost.
I doubt you'll see the difference to be honest. It's more for enthusiasts and people who will be clocking / benchmarking etc. Performance gain will be minimal at best and you will probably not/barely see anything even if you had 2 machines side by side that were identical bar the ram.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
First Computer Build k__dizzy New Builds 10 January 11, 2011 05:54 PM
First computer build (HELP) ssandulak New Builds 42 December 24, 2009 06:27 PM
New Computer Build Jeremychan17 New Builds 33 April 7, 2009 12:22 PM
First Ever Computer Build Wein13 Case Mods, Worklog & Gallery 49 September 19, 2008 03:54 PM
Build Me A Computer IronBubbles New Builds 20 August 23, 2008 07:39 PM