Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > New Builds

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old November 18, 2011, 08:46 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: NJ
Posts: 24
Default Newbie Needing a New PSU

OK all, I'm a net surfing newbie from the USA who has recently been getting more into gaming, though I am still by no means hardcore. I want to install an EVGA GeForce GTX 550 Ti gpu (which I already have) to my HP Pavillion (model p6210y), but I need a new power supply first since what I have is a litepro 300W. Can you reccomend a good 400W-550W psu for me, preferably one under $50?

Is all this even possible with what I have? My old gpu in place is a NVidia Geforce 9100

My specs:

AMD Athlon II X4 620 processor 2.60 Ghz
6.00 GB RAM
Windows 7 64-Bit

Last edited by Jaded1; November 18, 2011 at 09:11 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old November 18, 2011, 09:04 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Edmonton
Posts: 105

My System Specs

Default

What model of HP? All standard form factor?

For that price I'd look at a Corsair CX-500 v2.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old November 18, 2011, 09:10 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: NJ
Posts: 24
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Razamatraz View Post
What model of HP? All standard form factor?

For that price I'd look at a Corsair CX-500 v2.
I have an HP model p6210y
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old November 19, 2011, 08:01 AM
Iceman's Avatar
Rookie
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Winnipeg
Posts: 47
Default

You might be able to get away using that same power supply. If you check out the review for the GTX 550 Ti, you'll see that it uses 262 watts at full load, and that's using a Core i7 920 @ 4.0Ghz, which uses a lot more power than your Athlon II X4 620 processor @ 2.60 Ghz.

Granted you don't want your power supply running continuously at 100% (around 70% would be good), but there should be enough headroom for you to be able to stick with the same power supply.

If it were my system and I was on a limited budget, I would give it a shot. If there were any errors or system instability, then I would spring for a new PSU.

Then again, a new PSU might bring you some peace of mind. The question is whether or not that's worth the $50 to you.
__________________
Antec P182 - Gigabyte EP35 DSR3 - E8400@3.6Ghz - 2x2 GB GSkill F2 6400CL4 - HIS HD 5770 - Audigy 2 - Corsair Force 3 60GB - 7200.11 500GB - Silencer 610W - Windows 7
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old November 19, 2011, 09:23 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: NJ
Posts: 24
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Iceman View Post
You might be able to get away using that same power supply. If you check out the review for the GTX 550 Ti, you'll see that it uses 262 watts at full load, and that's using a Core i7 920 @ 4.0Ghz, which uses a lot more power than your Athlon II X4 620 processor @ 2.60 Ghz.

Granted you don't want your power supply running continuously at 100% (around 70% would be good), but there should be enough headroom for you to be able to stick with the same power supply.

If it were my system and I was on a limited budget, I would give it a shot. If there were any errors or system instability, then I would spring for a new PSU.

Then again, a new PSU might bring you some peace of mind. The question is whether or not that's worth the $50 to you.
You really think oit can work? Thanks! I'll give it a shot and see what happens. I'll still probably spring for a new PSU sometime in the future, but if I can hold off for a while that would be great.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old November 19, 2011, 09:48 AM
Bond007's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 3,068

My System Specs

Default

I would not try it on the 300w psu. It may work, but if (or when) it dies it may take multiple components from your computer with it. You should be able to get a very nice 500ish watt power supply during black friday sales for <$50.

A quick look on newegg I would say the best <$50 is Antec Neo eco 400w For $45 with free shipping, but I know you will get a better deal then that if you wait a few more days.
__________________
Desktop: Antec Three Hundred, Z77-D3H, 3570K undervolt @4.1ghz with Zalman Optima Cooler, Corsair Vengeance 2x4gb@1866mhz, HD 6950(unlocked shaders and OC'd), Bitfenix Fury 750w, WD Black 1TB, Intel 530 120GB
Away from home light Gamer: Acer Aspire 15.6", A8-3500m undervolt and OC to 2Ghz, 2x4gb Corsair Vengeance, Crucial M500 240gb
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old November 19, 2011, 03:20 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: NJ
Posts: 24
Default

Thanks Bond. Though I admit you have me a little nervous now, you know Murphy's law and all that.

I will wait to see what deals Black Friday provides, but barring that would this psu be a good choice?

Silverstone SSt-40F-ES 400W: Newegg.com - SILVERSTONE SST-ST40F-ES 400W ATX 12V 2.3 80 PLUS Certified Active PFC Power Supply

Shipping would be no problem if I got it through Amazon.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old November 20, 2011, 11:09 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: NJ
Posts: 24
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jaded1 View Post
I will wait to see what deals Black Friday provides, but barring that would this psu be a good choice?

Silverstone SSt-40F-ES 400W: Newegg.com - SILVERSTONE SST-ST40F-ES 400W ATX 12V 2.3 80 PLUS Certified Active PFC Power Supply

Shipping would be no problem if I got it through Amazon.

Any answer to this question?
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old November 20, 2011, 11:27 AM
Soultribunal's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Mississauga
Posts: 8,068

My System Specs

Default

ALthough SIlverstone makes good PSU's that is not one of them.

Get an Antec Eco, or a Corsair builder series 430.

They are always to be found for cheap.

-ST
__________________




"We know not why he calls for us, only that when he does we must answer" - DMP 2009

"Dear Iceberg, I am sorry to hear about global warming. Karma is a bitch. Signed - Titanic"

I would rather believe and find god doesn't exist than to not believe and find that he does.

www.realhardwarereviews.com
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old November 20, 2011, 01:44 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Montreal
Posts: 1,596

My System Specs

Default

For me an EVGA GTX 460 worked on an Antec Earth Watts 380 so the GTX550Ti that has only a one 6pin power connector should work fine
__________________
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Newbie needs help. Bores Easily New Builds 5 December 15, 2009 03:32 AM
Newbie needs advice drterrible Guides & How-to's 4 December 13, 2009 09:44 PM
How can I change the stripe size of RAID 0 without needing to reformate? Lima Storage 16 September 14, 2009 05:44 PM
Newbie here. kav New Builds 78 November 6, 2008 08:04 AM
Newbie To Dc jinthabestmc Off Topic 1 June 6, 2008 03:28 AM