Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > New Builds

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old November 16, 2011, 09:20 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 2
Default Budget BF3 Build sub $800 - Please critique

Hi guys, planning on building a budget gaming rig from one of the computer stores in Toronto. Not sure which one yet but anyway here is what I've come up with based on some research:

AMD Phenom II X4 955 & Biostar A880G+
G.Skill DDR3-1333MHz 8GB (2X4GB)
EVGA GTX 560 1GB
Seagate Barracuda 7200.12 500GB
Samsung SATA 22X DVD Rewriter
FSP Aurum AU-500W
Ikonik EN2

Any recommendations for a cheap monitor? Also, no need for a keyboard, mouse and Operating System
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old November 16, 2011, 09:41 AM
supaflyx3's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Chilliwack BC
Posts: 2,535

My System Specs

Default

I would upgrade that 560 too a 560ti, otherwise it looks good too me.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old November 16, 2011, 09:49 AM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Ontario
Posts: 1,382

My System Specs

Default

I would go with an i3 build on the 1155 platform, the i3 actually gets the best performance clock for clock in bf3 (although beyond a dual core Phenom II processor it really doesn't matter as BF3 is almost completely reliant on the GPU). It is not as good for multi-tasking however if you pick up an 1155 mobo you atleast have somewhere to upgrade to (i5/i7) or if the rumors are true you might be able to drop a Ivybridge CPU in there in the future.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old November 16, 2011, 11:10 AM
odis172's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Ottawa, ON
Posts: 683

My System Specs

Default

2nd'd for i3, with a gtx560ti
__________________
Laptop: Lenovo T420 - Core i5 2520 - 8GB DDR3
Server: 2 xeon E5530 - Asus Z8N-D6 - 12GB DDR3 - 8x 500GB raid 50 - Perc 6/i - Compucase RA448A00
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old November 17, 2011, 11:09 AM
Painbringer71's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 89

My System Specs

Default

New egg special today

129.99 us for a Phenom II 970 -Pre Holiday Clearance

With Promo Code
EMCJJJC33

Good till 11/22
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old November 17, 2011, 11:41 AM
MVP
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Edmonton
Posts: 265
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JJThomp View Post
I would go with an i3 build on the 1155 platform, the i3 actually gets the best performance clock for clock in bf3 (although beyond a dual core Phenom II processor it really doesn't matter as BF3 is almost completely reliant on the GPU). It is not as good for multi-tasking however if you pick up an 1155 mobo you atleast have somewhere to upgrade to (i5/i7) or if the rumors are true you might be able to drop a Ivybridge CPU in there in the future.
CPU is EXTREMELY important for BF3 multiplayer, less so for single player which is more GPU dependant.

Intel is the way to go this time around.
__________________
2600K @4.6 for now, still tweaking.
P8Z68-V Pro Gen3
Patriot Div2 Viper Extreme PC3-15000 4GBx2 (1866 9-11-9-27-2)
EVGA GTX 580 SSC
Caviar Black 1TB x2 RAID0
Corsair Gold 850W
Corsair H80
Corsair 600T Graphite
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old November 17, 2011, 11:47 AM
Birk's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Lethbridge, AB
Posts: 606

My System Specs

Default

I have to agree with these guys. Intel for BF3, the 560Ti is worth the little extra as well.

Happy Gaming!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old November 18, 2011, 08:13 AM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Ontario
Posts: 1,382

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by keto View Post
CPU is EXTREMELY important for BF3 multiplayer, less so for single player which is more GPU dependant.

Intel is the way to go this time around.
It really isn't important for multiplayer either... I have used a PII x3 and get the same framerates.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old November 20, 2011, 03:34 PM
Roby The Beast's Avatar
Rookie
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 14
Default

I have made the same build for a friend and i was running at High setting on 1920-1280. So take the Ti and a Overclock the CPU and you will be ok!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old November 20, 2011, 06:59 PM
Jim's Avatar
Jim Jim is offline
MVP
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: an hour out of Calgary
Posts: 405
Default

save your money go Phenom Tom's Hardware reviews says BF3 doesn't care what current processor you use.You'll run out of gpu performance long before the cpu will.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Nas build critique please odis172 New Builds 12 January 1, 2010 10:27 AM
Critique my build ModdKid New Builds 18 July 28, 2009 04:54 PM
please critique this build klaiboi New Builds 17 June 27, 2008 07:41 AM
New Build Critique ErroneousFrog New Builds 17 April 25, 2008 08:12 PM
New build - need critique! guinness CPU's and Motherboards 12 December 4, 2007 03:14 PM