Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > New Builds

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old November 11, 2011, 08:26 AM
LJS LJS is offline
Rookie
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 3
Default Corsair H60 cooler on a Gigabyte 990FX board

I am doing my first ever build and would like some guidance for the installation of the H60 cooler on the 990fxa-ud3 board. I am not sure how the two brackets work in connection with the plastic mount that is already installed on the board. Any suggestions here?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old November 11, 2011, 08:51 AM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Markham
Posts: 1,564

My System Specs

Default

It should just go over the existing backplate, refer to the instruction sheet. Coolit includes fairly idiot proof instructions with their units, the Corsair rebrands should be the same.

EDIT: you don't have to use the tape if you don't want to though.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old November 11, 2011, 01:19 PM
Pabz0r545's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Edmonton, AB
Posts: 1,301

My System Specs

Default

Here's an installation instruction video from corsair. Hope this helps.

Corsair Hydro Series H60 CPU Cooler Install How-To Video - YouTube
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old November 11, 2011, 05:25 PM
EmptyMellon's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 432

My System Specs

Arrow Corsair H60 AMD instructions

The Corsair video is useless for AMD installation, as it is for Intel socket(s). Unlike Noctua, CoolIT/Corsair got lazy and used a system that picks up on the existing AMD brackets, which used a looped bolt/stud that hooks around the plastic AM3+ brackets (one per end) and then you tighten the nuts onto the looped studs. When tightening make sure you do NOT over-tighten the nuts as it is easily done.

1. Feed the looped studs/bolts through the H60 AMD flanged brackets and lightly tighted the provided nuts (1 full turn is enough; just enough to hold the nuts in place)

2. Loosly center the H60 block over the CPU

3. Hook the looped studs around the AMD AM3+ plastic brackets

4. Loosly tighten the provided nuts (in step 1.) on the studs, until you have the block snug but not tight

5. Using your (prefered) hand, center the H60 water block on the CPU socket (again) - yes eye-balling it

6. While maintaing the center of the block tighten the nuts (2 turns per side maximum) until the bock is snugly to tightly over the CPU - MAKE SURE YOU DO NOT BEND THE H60 AMD FLANGED BRACKETS DUE TO OVER-TIGHTING; THEY WILL BEND AS THERE IS NOT STOP-MECHANISM

Don't hold me to this but I think (IIRC) it takes a maximum of 7-9 half-turns per side to securely tighten the H60 block over the CPU, no more.

Edit: After the installation, watch your CPU temperatures, since they will rise above 50*C with the H60 in place IF IT IS NOT PROPERLY CENTERED and the water block has tendency to slide to one side. Otherwise you should idel around high 20's to low 30's, if you see 50+ you will have to reseat the block.

Last edited by EmptyMellon; November 11, 2011 at 05:34 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old November 14, 2011, 06:09 AM
LJS LJS is offline
Rookie
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 3
Default H60

Thanks guys. It was a great help. It's a lot simpler than I anticipated.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Gigabyte Leaks their New AMD 990FX & 990X AM3+ Lineup SKYMTL Press Releases & Tech News 24 May 30, 2011 09:26 AM
Upgrade from ZALMAN CNPS10X Performa cooler to Corsair Hydro H70 cooler completed dosmond Water Cooling 3 September 3, 2010 02:27 PM
Gigabyte EX58-UDS ??? Can anybody tell me about this board jack2006 CPU's and Motherboards 3 August 23, 2009 04:19 PM
[WTB] Gigabyte GA-EP45-UD3P or similar P45 Board miggs78 Buy/Sell & Trade 9 July 8, 2009 03:12 PM
Board Swap From Asus To Gigabyte tyreman Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 10 May 12, 2009 11:56 AM