Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > New Builds

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old November 2, 2011, 09:13 PM
MVP
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Edmonton
Posts: 265
Default

Might want to start a new post, so people know it's not a Windows issue any more. State your hardware too, mobo/cpu/HDDs/Vid
__________________
2600K @4.6 for now, still tweaking.
P8Z68-V Pro Gen3
Patriot Div2 Viper Extreme PC3-15000 4GBx2 (1866 9-11-9-27-2)
EVGA GTX 580 SSC
Caviar Black 1TB x2 RAID0
Corsair Gold 850W
Corsair H80
Corsair 600T Graphite
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old November 2, 2011, 11:21 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 70
Default Need help new build keeps crashing.

So I have installed my new Motherboard,CPU and Ram. When ever I start the computer it gets to the desktop and then shuts off and restarts. If I load it in safe mode it will not do this. I tried to reinstall windows and it does the same thing as soon as it starts to load the screen goes black and everything starts again. I also thought it may be the new motherboards drivers first but it will not let me load them in safe mode and since it shuts down if it is not in safe mode I can not load the drivers. Anyone have any ideas? I took it all apart and hooked it back up but got the same results. I tried it with only 1 stick of ram same thing, as well I tried it with out the gpu and I checked the CPU temp in the bios and it was only in the 30's.

Here are the new items.

G.SKILL Ripjaws X F3-12800CL9D-8GBXL 8GB 2X4GB DDR3-1600 CL9-9-9-24 Memory
I5 2500k
Gigabyte Z68XP-UD3 ATX LGA1155 Z68 DDR3 2PCI-E16 3PCI-E1 2PCI HDMI SLI SATA3 USB3.0

Parts from my old build.


XFX Radeon 8750 1 gb DDR5 memory. Stock.

Antec Truepower Trio 650W Power Supply ATX12V V2.0 Active PFC SLI Certified 120MM Fan


Thermalright ULTRA-120 Extreme 6 Heatpipe Cooler LGA775 Heatsink *Fan Not Included*
Not sure if this will work with the I5 cpu.

Scythe S-FLEX SFF21F 120MM Cooling Fan 1600RPM 28.0DBA 63.7CFM FDB

Western Digital Caviar Black WD1001FALS 1TB 7200 RPM 32MB Cache SATA 3.0Gb/s 3.5" Internal Hard Drive -Bare Drive


24122Antec P182 ATX Black Mid Tower Case 4X5.25
1X3.5 6X3.5INT No PS Front USB Audio Firewire
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old November 3, 2011, 05:30 AM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Ontario
Posts: 1,384

My System Specs

Default

Sounds like a driver issue to me, did you uninstall all previous drivers and run CCleaner? Make sure everything is updated, including the mobo bios. Since it will start in safemode I'm thinking it is not a hardware issue.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old November 3, 2011, 05:45 AM
techman95's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: TEXAS
Posts: 322

My System Specs

Default

one of those new parts might be bad
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old November 3, 2011, 10:14 AM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Ontario
Posts: 1,384

My System Specs

Default

You probably didn't do a good job of getting rid of your old drivers. Hence why it actually starts in safemode. Just format your drive and do a fresh install of windows and download all current drivers.
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old November 3, 2011, 10:24 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 70
Default

But it will not allow me to install any of the drivers when in safe mode. The DVD spins but it keeps giving me an error and will not allow me to install anything off the disk. The install screen shows up but it will not install.
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old November 3, 2011, 10:33 AM
dandelioneater's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Kelowna, BC
Posts: 1,114

My System Specs

Default

You could potentially have a bad stick of ram. Try running the system with one stick installed, and/or run some memtest.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old November 3, 2011, 11:32 AM
misterd's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Charlottetown, P.E.I.
Posts: 608
Default

What motherboard / cpu/ chipset were you using before this upgrade? What OS are you using? Does it work with the onboard video? Pull your video card and run 1 stick of ram.
__________________
#hardwarecanucks on irc.freenode.net
fiat justitia ruat caelum

Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old November 3, 2011, 11:35 AM
misterd's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Charlottetown, P.E.I.
Posts: 608
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mishtar View Post
So I have installed my new Motherboard,CPU and Ram. When ever I start the computer it gets to the desktop and then shuts off and restarts. If I load it in safe nmode it will not do this. I tried to reinstall windows and it does the same thing as soon as it starts to load the screen goes black and everything starts again. I also thought it may new the new motherboards drivers first but it will not let me load them in safe mode and since it shuts down if it is not in safe mode I can not load it. Anyone have any ideas?
You posted this in another thread (which I replied to) Please pick one or the other.
__________________
#hardwarecanucks on irc.freenode.net
fiat justitia ruat caelum

Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old November 3, 2011, 11:56 AM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,707

My System Specs

Default

AHCI vice IDE mode settings in bios? Seems to me that windows installed under IDE mode will behave this way when the bios is set to AHCI.........
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i7 4770K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Windows N Keys Work With Normal Windows? geokilla O/S's, Drivers & General Software 9 June 9, 2010 09:18 PM
Microsoft Windows 7 and Windows Live Mail shaman44 O/S's, Drivers & General Software 4 April 6, 2010 07:29 PM
Windows 7 Installation Problems: Stuck at Expanding Windows Fles flightsimnerd Troubleshooting 9 February 16, 2010 02:57 PM
Windows 7 Boxed Units Outsell Windows Vista by 234% FiXT Press Releases & Tech News 0 November 6, 2009 12:41 PM
Formatting. Install Windows XP or Windows 7 geokilla O/S's, Drivers & General Software 29 July 7, 2009 03:32 PM