Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > New Builds

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old October 22, 2011, 11:23 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 3
Default Going to upgrade, just wanted to double check

Hey,

I'm pretty much set on an upgrade for BF3, Arkham City, and all the other new games. I'm just looking for some words of encouragement so I can go into the store and buy something with confidence, knowing it'll be worth it.

Right now, I've got:
AMD Athlon 7850 BE Kuma (OC'd to 3.0GHz)
Asus M4A77D
2x4GB + 2x2GB DDR2 RAM
ATI 5770
OCZ ModXStream 500w PSU
Case.

I'm planning on going with a 560 ti (this one: Newegg.ca - MSI N560GTX-TI Twin Frozr II/OC GeForce GTX 560 Ti (Fermi) 1GB 256-bit GDDR5 PCI Express 2.0 x16 HDCP Ready SLI Support Video Card). Just wanted to check that my CPU won't be bottlenecking it TOO much? I want to play BF3 with nice frame rates without having console level graphics. I know my cpu is an oldie, and I'm going to be upgrading, but I'm trying to hold out until the new Intels come out next year for a complete overhaul (you know, with that newfangled DDR3 RAM). And the 560ti should still be relevant next year, right? Cause I know it has been on the market for almost a year already, and I figure atleast this way I can get a bit of gaming in before a complete overhaul.

So great members of hardware canucks, want to help convince me that this upgrade is the right one for me?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old October 22, 2011, 11:56 PM
MVP
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 399

My System Specs

Default

Since this is a dual core and a pretty old one I'd say the bottlenecking will be pretty bad. Those games you're playing are quite CPU intensive as well and these days quaddie are the norm with games. The current rig you have there should be able to play all the games you've listed with at least low to medium settings and I think it is best that you wait it out till next year for a complete overhaul of the rig with the new HD7000 series and GTX600 series cards coming out next year. The cards coming out next year should be the lower end ones but it could be comparable in performance to the GTX560 Ti.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old October 23, 2011, 03:04 AM
GT7R's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Our universe
Posts: 991

My System Specs

Default

That CPU will bottleneck the 560Ti considerably (depends also on your resolution).
That being said, the CPU won't affect the visual quality you'll be able to run. Means lets say if it will be able run BF3 at 40 FPS, the CPU will do 40 regardless your GPU & IQ settings.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old October 23, 2011, 09:18 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 3
Default

Oh, I should have added that my resolution is 1680x1050 with no intention on upgrading my monitor.
I should revise my initial statement: I would *like* to overhaul my system next year, but if there is something I can do in the present that might eke out another year of performance, that would be even better, since an overhaul would be quite costly (almost new everything given my system at the moment).
If my CPU is bottlenecking it as much as it will, do you guys think I should pick up maybe an AMD X4 955 processor for about $110? It's a bandaid solution, but if that means I won't HAVE to upgrade next year, then that would be great.

Thanks guys.

Last edited by penguinsandpearls; October 23, 2011 at 10:16 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old October 23, 2011, 10:52 AM
MVP
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 399

My System Specs

Default

If you wish to do a minor upgrade then just get the Phenom II X4 955, just remember to update your BIOS before swapping the CPU. Probably a good idea since AMD might EOL the Phenom II series for their Bulldozer series which is not even better than Phenom II.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old October 23, 2011, 11:38 AM
GT7R's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Our universe
Posts: 991

My System Specs

Default

A straight answer - With a 955BE you won't HAVE to upgrade at the next year or so, especially if you'll OC it.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old October 23, 2011, 12:03 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 2,917

My System Specs

Default

My opinion-

560Ti is excellent bang for buck right now, and should be a fine GPU for another 1-2year at your resolution.

Your CPU WILL bottleneck the 560Ti, but it will depend on the game to what extent.

My opinion is to buy the GPU and see how your CPU does with the games you play. Then its your call to either go for a 955/1090 (IMO the only AMD processors to consider) if you feel you need it. Another factor to consider is that these CPU are becoming EOL soon and may become harder to find the longer you wait. If you plan on keeping the system for a while, then grab a new CPU. If you think you may have the funds to go to a new MOB CPU RAM in the next 6 months or so, then don't bother with a CPU now and put the money towards the new build.
__________________
Desktop: Antec Three Hundred, Z77-D3H, 3570K undervolt @4.1ghz with Zalman Optima Cooler, Corsair Vengeance 2x4gb@1866mhz, MSI Cyclone GTX 460, Seasonic S12II 500W, WD Black 1TB, Intel 530 120GB
Away from home light Gamer: Acer Aspire 15.6", A8-3500m undervolt and OC to 2Ghz, 2x4gb Corsair Vengeance, Crucial M500 240gb
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old October 23, 2011, 12:11 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 3
Smile

Just got back from the store. Looks like I'll do what bond007 says, and see how it goes with my current CPU. If I upgrade, then it'll be the processor next to 955.

Thanks for the help guys.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
quick double check techman95 Video Cards 4 April 27, 2011 07:35 AM
GPU Upgrade...input wanted Eagle Eye_54 Video Cards 21 January 26, 2011 04:00 PM
$1500 i5 Build - Pre-Finalization, Double Check AmuseMe New Builds 22 February 21, 2010 02:05 PM
Needs a double check BootlegUsher New Builds 8 February 8, 2010 11:47 AM
My first build; need someone to double check my parts Fenrise New Builds 15 August 17, 2009 08:00 PM