Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > New Builds

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old October 17, 2011, 03:21 PM
Trial Member

Default First Build Help

Looking for a bit of help for creating my first build. I have limited knowledge on this subject so I'm looking any suggestions you might have.

Stuff I plan on buying so far:

1. It'll be used for running games, browsing the internet, streaming, downloading etc. I'm looking to be able to run games like tf2 at 60 fps at high settings, but my main concern is fps rather than graphics so I'm willing to sacrifice a bit if I need the money. Which brings me to:

2. I have $1200 to spend on all the parts, including peripherals (I'm currently looking for a good mouse and cheap speakers), tax, and shipping. I'd like to keep it under one grand though.

3. I live in Ontario. I'll be visiting Canada Computers to see if I can get anything cheaper than Newegg, and whatever isn't cheaper I'll buy off Newegg.

4. I have no brand preference.

5. I have a pretty old computer lying around, it's at least 5 years old. I'll try to keep the monitor and keyboard, but I think everything else will have to go.

6. Yes, I have read a few other threads in this subforum.

7. I have no plans on overclocking. I have limited knowledge and experience so I don't plan on doing anything like that.

8. Going to buy around christmas to maximize savings.

9. I'm not really sure what my resolution is. The monitor is hooked up to an old computer that won't turn on anymore so I'm not sure how to check. It's not very big or small, but I'll see what I can do to find the exact resolution. I may change the monitor in the future, so I'd like to be able to handle whatever the average resolution is currently.

So yeah, any suggestions for parts? Anything that won't work together? I'm also looking for a simple mouse, nothing too fancy, and cheap speakers.
Old October 17, 2011, 03:46 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H

My System Specs