Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > New Builds

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old October 11, 2011, 01:47 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 2
Default Will It Work?

Will these components of a computer work together, I believe so but I wanted the peoples perspective.

Motherboard: Gigabyte GA-990FXA-UD7
CPU: AMD Bulldozer FX-8150P Black Edition
Video Card: 2x AMD Radeon HD 7990 (I realize it's not out yet but it's planned for Q1/H1 of 2012, 'till then the AMD Radeon HD 6990 will be used)
RAM: OCZ EOL DDR3 Platinum Series OCZ3P2000LV8GK
HDD: Western Digital Caviar Black WD2002FAEX
ODD: ASUS BC-08B1LT
Sound Card: ASUS Xonar Essence ST Deluxe (ST with Xonar H6)
Speakers: Logitech Speaker System Z906
Mouse: Logitech Performance Mouse MX
Keyboard: Logitech diNovo Edge
Printer: HP Officejet Pro 8500A Premium e-Allin-One Printer - A910n
Display: SONY Bravia XBR HX929 65" HDTV via HDMI or Dell UltraSharp U3011SONY
OS: Windows 7 Ultimate (x64)
Power Supply: Thermaltake Toughpower Grand 1200W

Last edited by qwertymanhurts; October 12, 2011 at 12:57 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old October 11, 2011, 01:54 PM
FlyingFish's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 491
Default

New Builds - Hardware Canucks

Posting there would be a better place to get some help with this.


Anyways, your build will "work" but there are a few things worth considering...

You're planning to build a BD based machine, but we have no way of knowing how well BD will be. I'm assuming you're an AMD fan, but the prelminary reviews for BD suggest that it's worse than a comparable Sandy Bridge machine. If you're going to be spending on a top of the line machine, why not go for something which will give you the best performance period?

Also, with a machine like that, you should really consider getting an SSD. The Crucial M4 is a good one.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old October 11, 2011, 03:03 PM
SugarJ's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Langley, BC
Posts: 6,103

My System Specs

Default

Thread moved to correct forum.

FlyingFish raises some good points.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old October 11, 2011, 03:08 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Edmonton
Posts: 105

My System Specs

Default

I also question using a 6990/7990. That UD7 can handle 4 double slot cards so dual 6970/7970 might be better. If you only want one card the UD5 would be lots and even UD3 would work.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old October 11, 2011, 04:28 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Montreal
Posts: 1,580

My System Specs

Default

running 4 double wide slot cards is difficult, 3 out of 4 of them will suck hot air from the back plate of the one in front and the platform will be noisy. Had 3 nvidia cards and all of them were running at 60% fan speed, and with default profile from EVGA precision they are noisy. Speaking from my own experience. Even with good lateral cooling the system will be noisy. In order for the 4th card to be double wide you will need an Extended ATX case, something for servers otherwise will not fit as most cases don't have the necessary space if the power supply is bottom mounted. So 3 double wide and a single slot is doable on a regular ATX case but with compromise of noise.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old October 11, 2011, 06:55 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Edmonton
Posts: 105

My System Specs

Default

Yah, I wouldn't suggest actually running 4 cards (at least on air), just saying that if he plans to run a single dual-gpu card he doesn't need a UD7, the lesser UD series boards will do just fine. If he does go UD7 might as well go with 2 top end single GPU cards.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old October 11, 2011, 07:35 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Ontario
Posts: 1,384

My System Specs

Default

Except running 2 cards is an adventure in itsekf to get them working sometimes, and sometimes you need to tweak things for each game.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old October 11, 2011, 07:46 PM
MVP
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Edmonton
Posts: 265
Default

OK let's face it, you're going all out almost without respect for budget. Intel's X79 chipset is due out (next month? more than one article I've read says Nov.) and is going to be THE enthusiast chipset of choice for the immediately forseeable future - more memory lanes and DDR-2800 capable, something like 3x or 4x as much bandwidth thru the system, blah blah this yada yada that, it's going to make a current 67/68 Sandybridge look positively neutered. If I were dropping that coin, I'd hang in.

Unless you're an AMD fanboi, which is totally understandable.
__________________
2600K @4.6 for now, still tweaking.
P8Z68-V Pro Gen3
Patriot Div2 Viper Extreme PC3-15000 4GBx2 (1866 9-11-9-27-2)
EVGA GTX 580 SSC
Caviar Black 1TB x2 RAID0
Corsair Gold 850W
Corsair H80
Corsair 600T Graphite
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old October 11, 2011, 07:52 PM
lightninstrikr's Avatar
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Virginia
Posts: 121

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by keto View Post
OK let's face it, you're going all out almost without respect for budget. Intel's X79 chipset is due out (next month? more than one article I've read says Nov.) and is going to be THE enthusiast chipset of choice for the immediately forseeable future - more memory lanes and DDR-2800 capable, something like 3x or 4x as much bandwidth thru the system, blah blah this yada yada that, it's going to make a current 67/68 Sandybridge look positively neutered. If I were dropping that coin, I'd hang in.

Unless you're an AMD fanboi, which is totally understandable.
What this guy said...
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old October 11, 2011, 10:07 PM
FlyingFish's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 491
Default

I would highly recommend reading the reviews for Bulldozer.


Because quite frankly, bulldozer is a bit crap.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How does more then 2.2TB work on XP? Blu Storage 11 May 15, 2011 08:44 PM
Cant get work Eldonko HardwareCanucks F@H Team 10 April 1, 2011 08:16 AM
Will this work? Polygon Off Topic 6 July 2, 2010 07:30 PM
Attempt #10 to get work failed, and no other work to do. LaughingCrow HardwareCanucks F@H Team 3 May 5, 2010 08:29 AM
Will This Work? stormkiller22 Troubleshooting 9 March 5, 2008 05:02 PM