Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > New Builds

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old October 11, 2011, 12:47 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 10
Default

thanks for all your answering my questions you guys are really helping me :)

i have some other question that i wish to ask

is the Asus auto overclocking a software of a feature?

and is the over clocking by Asus auto overclocking will be like an expert overclocking?

dose Asus auto overclocking is supported in all Asus motherboard ?

and what overclocking generally Depends on?is it only Depends on the cooling method the you are using ?
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old October 11, 2011, 04:40 AM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Ontario
Posts: 1,382

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by karakoon View Post
thanks for all your answering my questions you guys are really helping me :)

i have some other question that i wish to ask

is the Asus auto overclocking a software of a feature?

and is the over clocking by Asus auto overclocking will be like an expert overclocking?

dose Asus auto overclocking is supported in all Asus motherboard ?

and what overclocking generally Depends on?is it only Depends on the cooling method the you are using ?
Yes it is a software feature

Well not "expert" your overclock won't push the limits of the CPU but it will give you a performance boost and is a good way to get started.

Nope not all Asus mobo's (gigabyte I believe has the same feature in some of their boards)

Overclocking depends on cooling and how lucky you get with your chip. You obviously want a better cooler than the stock HSF when overclocking and sometimes you just get a good chip that runs cool that you can overclock the crap out of and sometimes you get one that you can't. The auto-overclock feature is pretty conservative (will probably only overclock your cpu t about 4.0 ghz) and you won't have any problems with Sandy Bridge on it.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old October 11, 2011, 07:41 AM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 1,577
Default

We're the experts ;)
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old October 11, 2011, 09:40 AM
SugarJ's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Langley, BC
Posts: 6,076

My System Specs

Default

My Asus P8P67 auto-overclocked my 2600k to 4.4Ghz with one push of the button in the BIOS. I haven't tried pushing it farther, because I felt that was fast enough for my wife's machine. I used a Coolermaster Hyper 212+ cooler on that build.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old October 11, 2011, 02:05 PM
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Tillsonburg, Ontario
Posts: 913

My System Specs

Default

Sorry to ask a question in this thread but is there a big difference in the motherboards?

Asus P8P67

and the other P8Z or whatever?
__________________


Comp1 (Mine) : ASUS P9X79 LE, 3960X, 16GB Corsair Vengence 1333, PNY 770 4GB, OCZ Vertex3 240GB, OCZ Vertex3 480GB, 600GB VelociRaptor, Corsair 1000HX, Cool Master Cosmos 2

Comp2 (Wife's) : ASUS Sabertooth P67, i7 2700K, 8GB Corsair Vengeance 1866, 1TB HD, 2TB HD, EVGA 660, Corsair 1000HX, HAF 922

Comp3 (Kids) : ASUS P8P67 Pro, i7 2700K, 8GB 1866 GSkill, Gigabyte 770, Crucial M4 120GB, OCZ Vertex3 240GB,1TB WD Black, Antec 850W, Antec 120
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old October 11, 2011, 05:13 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Ontario
Posts: 1,382

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by trayton View Post
Sorry to ask a question in this thread but is there a big difference in the motherboards?

Asus P8P67

and the other P8Z or whatever?
Well the z68 has some new features like SSD caching and onboard/sometimes switchable graphics that are nice but it won;t kill you if you don't have them.
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old October 11, 2011, 07:34 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 10
Default

so which mobo should i use that can have this 2 features
1- quick respond that allows me to increase the cash by using ssd
2- auto overclocking
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old October 11, 2011, 07:36 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Ontario
Posts: 1,382

My System Specs

Default

The asus Mobo I linked will do both of those and is good quality, should be perfect for your build.
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old October 11, 2011, 08:19 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 10
Default

some of the asus when i read there specification have (Auto Tuning - Auto System Level Up)
and other have TPU Intelligent
i though this 2 is same the feature
can you please tell me what is the different?
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old October 11, 2011, 08:56 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Ontario
Posts: 1,382

My System Specs

Default

TPU intelligent will adjust your clock speed to use the desired amount of power, this will not overclock your computer.

Say you want to use less power because you are going to be running off a battery or something you can use tpu intelligent to underclock your computer to desired levels of power usage.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
BUILDING NEW AM3 COMPUTER! PLEASE HELP! revixd New Builds 16 December 27, 2009 05:59 AM
Building a gaming computer help xargon805 New Builds 22 December 22, 2009 08:40 PM
Building A $200-ish Computer ImmaPC New Builds 25 December 13, 2009 04:49 PM
Building my first computer - Help and suggestions Waldie New Builds 94 April 27, 2009 01:30 PM
Building my first computer, need some opinions... Tsylord New Builds 10 September 21, 2008 07:45 PM