Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > New Builds

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old October 2, 2011, 11:44 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 39
Default Lower Resolution More CPU Intensive?

Is running at a lower resolution really more intensive on the CPU? I've been hearing this recently, and I'm a bit scared, as I ordered my new build yesterday, with an XFX HD 6950 1gb edition and an AMD 955 BE at 3.2ghz. I'll be gaming at 1360x768 for a bit, due to my monitor, but I heard that this may drastically hurt my performance, since I went with such a strong video card and kinda cheaped out on the processor. Is this true?

Tl-dr; HD 6950, X4 955 BE 3.2ghz, gaming at 1360x768, bottleneck wat do?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old October 2, 2011, 11:56 AM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,606
Default

Fud.

Lower resolutions have no effect on CPU at all.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old October 2, 2011, 01:10 PM
Your_friendly_gamer's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 683

My System Specs

Default

I think they were just trying to scare you. But that's not true at all!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old October 2, 2011, 01:22 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 39
Default

I also asked on Toms Hardware, and the response I got on there made a lot more sense.
"On lower resolutions, the load on the GPU is lightened, so the CPU is more likely to reach full load then the GPU."
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old October 2, 2011, 01:23 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 39
Default

Thank you all for your help though!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old October 2, 2011, 01:35 PM
GT7R's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Our universe
Posts: 991

My System Specs

Default

The lower resolution doesn't hampers CPU performance, but rather eases the load from the GPU - which sometimes results that the CPU becomes the effective bottleneck. Your specs are a bit unbalanced considering the monitor, but that doesn't means it's not ok, just save for a new monitor as your next upgrade.
And you can be sure that your CPU will easily handle all the current crop of games, no need to worry there :)
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old October 2, 2011, 10:33 PM
Phill's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Morden MB
Posts: 592

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Is running at a lower resolution really more intensive on the CPU?
Generally yes. Because the frames are lower res they are "easier" for the GPU to render (more per second) but proportionally requires additional CPU power to display the increased frame rate.

Quote:
I'll be gaming at 1360x768 for a bit, due to my monitor, but I heard that this may drastically hurt my performance
no, not performance but perhaps performance potential. Most of which will be over 60FPS and therefore useless.

Quote:
bottleneck wat do?
1. Enjoy your uber fps (frames per second) at your low res (even though with a better cpu you would have even more ridiculous fps).
2. Perhaps consider buying a nice HSF for your 955 and clock it to 4Ghz. From there a single 6950 should be nicely matched IMO.
3. Perhaps consider a better monitor sometime in the future... sure like my 2560X1440

Last edited by Phill; October 2, 2011 at 10:52 PM.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Photography thread --IMAGE INTENSIVE-- Mr. Gruntsworthy Off Topic 185 April 13, 2014 12:16 PM
What PSU for about $170 or lower ipaine Power Supplies 6 March 7, 2011 07:32 PM
Lga775 3d app intensive. mailaw New Builds 1 November 30, 2008 01:04 PM
How hardware intensive is boinc? biff HardwareCanucks F@H Team 3 November 1, 2008 12:22 PM
Help lower gas prices! Salavat23 Off Topic 18 April 19, 2008 05:11 PM