Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > New Builds

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old September 16, 2011, 06:54 AM
Mistertuxedopants's Avatar
Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 35

My System Specs

Default Possible file server/hosting server

Hello HWC,

So currently I am using my 27" iMac to store all my media/files and hosting my website. I have some parts laying around so i was thinking that i would build a file server and use my iMac for what I intended in the first place, programming/photo/media/everything else.

The parts I have are:
Asus p5q-e
Intel q6600 /w stock Cooler
DVD-RW
4x2TB Western Digital Greens
2x2TB Western Digital My Books (External)
2GB mushkin
video card ( can't remember what the model is)

I plan to use Ubuntu Server.

What I need:

A case, doesn't have to be a server case. I was actually thinking about Coolermaster HAF 912. The only requirement i am looking for is good air flow and lots of space for hard drives.

NCIX.com - Buy Coolermaster Haf 912 Black Mid Tower ATX Case 4X5.25 1X3.5 6X3.5INT No PS Front USB Sound - COOLERMASTER - RC-912-KKN1 - in Canada

A PSU, i am not sure what to get here. I don't know how much power I need. Video card is going to be very low end so most of the power is going to hard drives. I was thinking this

NCIX.com - Buy Corsair Builder Series CMPSU-500CX 500W ATX Power Supply Active PFC 120MM Fan *2 Year Wrty* - Corsair - CMPSU-500CX - in Canada


Ok here is what i was thinking. Is my current parts enough for a file server? What do u think about the parts i need? Please advice.

Thanks
MTP


__________________
Holy Bananas

Look at me, I'm wearing one shape up
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old September 18, 2011, 04:14 PM
Mistertuxedopants's Avatar
Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 35

My System Specs

Default

Can someone please comment on the hardware, never built a file server before

Thanks!!!!
MTP
__________________
Holy Bananas

Look at me, I'm wearing one shape up
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old September 18, 2011, 05:17 PM
misterd's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Charlottetown, P.E.I.
Posts: 608
Default

It's lots and then some. The case will do and the power supply should be fine as long as you don't load up the video card (hard to say without model) and cpu too much at once. Have fun.
__________________
#hardwarecanucks on irc.freenode.net
fiat justitia ruat caelum

Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old September 18, 2011, 06:05 PM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is offline
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,891

My System Specs

Default

Should do you fine, although you don't really need a Q6600, but if that's all you have then so be it.

You may not even need the video card installed once you get everything setup if you want to reduce your power consumption a bit.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old September 18, 2011, 06:11 PM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,627

My System Specs

Default

I'm using a Fractal R3 for my file server, which houses 8 1Tb drives in Raid 6. Does a great job.
Try to use a board with onboard GPU, less power consumption. No need for a DVD.
Then share the drives over the network, and if you need access to the OS simply RDC into it.
That's what I do. Works great.
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old September 18, 2011, 06:38 PM
Mistertuxedopants's Avatar
Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 35

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 3.0charlie View Post
I'm using a Fractal R3 for my file server, which houses 8 1Tb drives in Raid 6. Does a great job.
Try to use a board with onboard GPU, less power consumption. No need for a DVD.
Then share the drives over the network, and if you need access to the OS simply RDC into it.
That's what I do. Works great.
What are u using for an OS?

Thanks
__________________
Holy Bananas

Look at me, I'm wearing one shape up
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old September 18, 2011, 06:42 PM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,627

My System Specs

Default

W7 Pro.
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old September 18, 2011, 06:57 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Ottawa, ON
Posts: 1,226

My System Specs

Default

WD Documentation [Edit:] Check out the power consumption figures. You really don't have to factor HDDs into PSU choice unless you have 10 of them or something.

For power, unless you fold or something like that, I doubt your computer will draw more than 80W (from internals) in normal operation. My old home server with Core2Duo E6400, no GPU, and three hard drives drew about 65W from the wall idle, and ~110W starting up. This was with a GUI-less Linux.

If you don't pick an overkill GPU with PCIE supplemental power, you'd be fine with a *good* 300W power supply if it has enough cables. A bad PSU (like the ones Hardware Secrets / JohnnyGuru say are just within spec or out of spec) will periodically kill hard drives.
__________________
"The computer programmer says they should drive the car around the block and see if the tire fixes itself." [src]
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old September 19, 2011, 06:01 AM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is offline
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,891

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 3.0charlie View Post
I'm using a Fractal R3 for my file server, which houses 8 1Tb drives in Raid 6.
Me too, but it's a bit expensive compared to the HAF912. I also have a dual-bay 5.25" to 3x 3.5" rack so I have a total of 10 drives in mine (able to hold 1 more!). Up to the OP to decide if he wants to spend more or not I guess.

My server pulls 127W from the wall under typical load. Granted I'm running Hyper-V as well though. I have the following specs:
  • Intel Core i5 2500K
  • Gigabyte GT210
  • LSI 9211-4i (SAS/RAID card)
  • Dual Intel Gigbit CT NICs
  • 4x Samsung F3 1TB (7200RPM)
  • 2x Samsung F4 2TB (~5900RPM, “eco” drive)
  • 2x Western Digital Black 640GB (7200RPM)
  • 2x Samsung F3 500GB (7200RPM)
  • Seasonic S12II 520W (80+ bronze certified)
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old September 19, 2011, 06:54 AM
Mistertuxedopants's Avatar
Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 35

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JD View Post
Me too, but it's a bit expensive compared to the HAF912. I also have a dual-bay 5.25" to 3x 3.5" rack so I have a total of 10 drives in mine (able to hold 1 more!). Up to the OP to decide if he wants to spend more or not I guess.

My server pulls 127W from the wall under typical load. Granted I'm running Hyper-V as well though. I have the following specs:
  • Intel Core i5 2500K
  • Gigabyte GT210
  • LSI 9211-4i (SAS/RAID card)
  • Dual Intel Gigbit CT NICs
  • 4x Samsung F3 1TB (7200RPM)
  • 2x Samsung F4 2TB (~5900RPM, “eco” drive)
  • 2x Western Digital Black 640GB (7200RPM)
  • 2x Samsung F3 500GB (7200RPM)
  • Seasonic S12II 520W (80+ bronze certified)
that is a nice list of hardware for your server.
what are you running for an OS?
__________________
Holy Bananas

Look at me, I'm wearing one shape up
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
WIP Home File Server - Modding Rack mount Server Chassis CoolHandL Case Mods, Worklog & Gallery 24 December 22, 2010 11:37 AM
If I were to start game server hosting... The Guy Gaming 1 July 3, 2009 12:37 AM
Hosting CSS server phil3_66666 Gaming 6 April 29, 2009 04:29 PM
Has anyone ever used a Europe-based dedicated server for hosting a N.American Website HoTiCE_ Off Topic 4 April 5, 2009 11:29 AM
Building a file server kdub New Builds 10 September 27, 2008 11:04 AM