Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > New Builds

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old September 7, 2011, 10:36 PM
Allstar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 705
Default Server build

I got a 3ware/AMCC 9000 12 port RAID card for free and I want to put it to good use. My plan is to build a server running ESX and 2 or 3 OS on it for torrent, basic web server, and Oracle DB w/ Glassfish. I'm considering the following options:

1. Take my sister's Q6600 with 8GB of RAM and build her a new 2500K with 8GB of RAM (haxintosh).
2. Build an AMD X6 with 8GB of RAM for the server and configure it as 1/1/4 CPU and 2/2/4 GB or RAM.

Looking at this week's NCIX deals, both setup cost about the same, ~$450 with BC HST not including a new 4U case. I'm leaning toward option #1 since my sister could use a faster PC for her graphic works.

Finally, how much of a performance drop should I expect if I plug a PCI-X card into a 32bit PCI slot? The RAID card's manual say it can be plug into a 32bit PCI slot.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old September 7, 2011, 11:10 PM
supaflyx3's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Chilliwack BC
Posts: 2,535

My System Specs

Default

PCI-X has a theoretical speed of around 10Gbit, and PCI has a theoretical speed of 1.2Gbit-2.5Gbit, you do the math ;)
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old September 7, 2011, 11:52 PM
Allstar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 705
Default

Holy crap! I didn't expect the theoretical speed to be that huge of a difference. I'm having problem finding new boards with PCI-X or PCI-64.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old September 8, 2011, 12:50 AM
supaflyx3's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Chilliwack BC
Posts: 2,535

My System Specs

Default

If you don't need some serious processing power, you could go for a board with dual singlecore xeons with HT, most boards from that era have PCI-X slots.

Also the maximum array size that card supports is 3TB, and it is SATA1. In my opinion it would be cheaper, and much easier just to buy a dell perc 5i or 6i for around $100.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old September 8, 2011, 12:54 AM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Markham
Posts: 1,565

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by moocow View Post
Holy crap! I didn't expect the theoretical speed to be that huge of a difference. I'm having problem finding new boards with PCI-X or PCI-64.
I assume you won't delve much further than a raid 5, so it shouldn't be too bad of a bottleneck, you'll be maxing out a single gigabit connection either way.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old September 8, 2011, 01:35 AM
Allstar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 705
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by supaflyx3 View Post
Also the maximum array size that card supports is 3TB, and it is SATA1. In my opinion it would be cheaper, and much easier just to buy a dell perc 5i or 6i for around $100.
By array size you meant a RAID set correct? So I can't use 3x2TB drives in RAID 5 and the maximum I can do is 4x1TB in RAID 5?
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
File Server Build je55e New Builds 10 August 15, 2011 03:30 PM
server build help freaked New Builds 0 August 3, 2011 12:29 PM
Suggestions for a Server build Prof. Dr. Silver New Builds 13 October 31, 2009 01:23 PM
Do I need to build a Nas server or can I do this instead Shadowmeph HTPC Systems & Software 14 October 23, 2009 11:59 AM
server build Scratch CPU's and Motherboards 0 March 5, 2008 11:44 PM